Families logo

The Unexpected Sacrifice.

A Lesson In A Story

By Carol ElPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Unexpected Sacrifice.
Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Some years ago I was reading a story about a young man that fell on tough times. He had no contact with his family, and he was homeless living on the streets. Somehow, he ran across an acquaintance that he grew up with. Later, this man found out that his friend was in business for himself and had built his own home. It turned out that his friend offered him a place to stay until he could get on his feet. Meanwhile, the man that was no longer homeless and now had a roof over his head found out he was terminally ill. Eventually, this man passed away. He had money that he had saved back, but it was not enough to pay for the whole funeral expense.

So the friend that had offered the homeless man a place to stay, paid for the rest of the funeral. As I read this story, my heart was touched, and I started to cry. What happened in this story reminded me of a situation that happened to me back in 2008. My dad who at the time was staying with me and my husband. At a certain point, he decided to move in with my brother to help take care of him due to his mental disabilities.

I knew dad had a lot of health problems pertaining to his heart. On and off the thought would come across my mind about dad having life insurance just in case something would happen.

Consequently, the thought just stayed a thought, and I never did get around to asking dad if he had any life insurance. In March of 2008, my dad passed away at my brother's place. I was truly heartbroken.

Once my husband and I arrived at the funeral home to discuss arrangements for payment and after we eliminated as much we could to save on funeral expenses, $2000 was still needed. Since none of my dad's relatives could help, it was left up to my husband and I to step up and sign on the dotted line. At that moment, I pictured myself getting up from that table, stepping out, and not signing anything. My father was the source of my anger and sadness. Thoughts ran through my mind: 'How could he just die and leave me holding the bag!' I am not signing anything!'

As I sat there in the funeral home, a thought came to me: 'If it were you, your father would sign the papers to make sure you had a decent funeral and deal with the cost later. After this thought came and went, I knew from a deep place that I had to do the right thing. Doing what's right isn't always easy. It's often a sacrifice and will cost you something. The matter at hand may not be related to money. Your time or talents may be a factor.

In John 15:13 (KJV) it says, "Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for a friend." Jesus was the one who made the ultimate sacrifice.

He gave up his life (laid it down) for the sake of saving us. It cost Jesus something. His death resulted from it. The cost of burying my dad was something. Burying my dad required me to spend money I didn't have. Yet, deep down in my heart, I knew that the right thing to do was to be responsible and sign those papers. At the end of the day, my father was buried with honors in a place that honors veterans, and everything was paid for by the VA.

The kind of love that Jesus speaks of is often accompanied by action. The challenge may vary depending on what action is being taken. In actuality, the person has the choice to walk away and refrain from doing it. The individual is the one who decides. It's necessary to be courageous and do the right thing when no one else will do it. Even after all is said and done, I feel peace inside knowing that my father finally received a proper burial.

extended familyimmediate family
Like

About the Creator

Carol El

I basically write about life experiences and parenting. People want to hear about other people life experiences because some how or another we all can relate to what someone else has been through and that's what I write about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.