Families logo

The Trauma Chronicles

My family and the results of a stolen Matriarch.

By Katie JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
 The Trauma Chronicles
Photo by Artem Maltsev on Unsplash

HOPEFUL THINKING

What I mean is my Mother, my Aunt and Uncle that are well, mine got robbed of their mother, in a tragically and violent manner, her husband 2 husband after their dad murdered her. These events in turn I believe, robbed my siblings, our cousins, and I of good parents. It’s no competition but my mother and Aunt live the traumatic events to this day even.

This is about the relationship with my mother and I. What I’ve learned, dealt with, and still live through. Although at this hour I’m seeing a little light in the shrouded with darkness life tunnel I have been walking through. It’s through my want to have the same loving, connected, and strong relationship I share with my siblings, with my mother as well.

So, without further a due, let us get into the events that brought us here.

April 18, 1990 about 4a.m. my grandmother is taking a shower, starting her day as usual, soon going to work. The night before, she had a blowout with her soon to be divorced husband after countless times of lies he fed her, the promises to get clean, the numerous threats he made on her life brought her, a month prior to the police station to obtain a restraining order stating she was concerned for her life. The man left after their fight and spent the better part of the fateful day getting inebriated, probably feeling sorry for himself, who knows, so he came through a screen door that he cut open with a key, used a kitchen knife and inflicted a number of mortal wounds on her my Stolen Matriarch. I’ve never even seen a picture of this man, I know his name and well, even that’s not important. Whats important is and I quote right out of the case files, (and before you ask, yes I looked them up. I’m curiously conscience. “ Defendant was convicted in the Middlesex Superior court, of first degree murder and armed burglary in connection with stabbing of his estranged wife, in her apartment, and he appealed.”

The fact he tried to appeal it boggles my mind. “There was evidence supporting conviction for the first degree murder by reason of deliberate premeditation.” His conviction was 6 years later, almost exactly, off by a month and a day. March 19, 1996.

At the time of my grandmothers death, my mother was 18 with 2 daughters, and a loaded dose of PTSD. Rightfully so. Spending much of her life spiraling down, and up and down and up, and taking my sister, my brothers and myself along for the ride. I sit here today truthfully numb on any emotions other than my love for my family, it’s mine, they are mine and you can’t have them back!

I’m sure by now your like where is this going...so, to say my mom is hurt would be a serious understatement. I am no professional, but I can honestly say there is no way to place words on who my mother is today. I know a lot of people who can say that.

I’m struggling to find an end to this vocal article blog, thingy because I don’t know what the day with my mother tomorrow will bring I’m hopeful though because of one sentence she said, “I’m lucky to have you kids”. Never I don’t think she ever to me said that. I know her to say “be grateful I’m around” or it’s “You Kids”! don’t do this or whatever else. I want a good healthy relationship rounded parent and kid relationship with her so I can start to build a better one for my 2 kids and I want to be a good daughter to her we both deserve it.

So whatever tomorrow brings, I hope it’s got some promise, and ends with positive thoughts. It will definitely end with me right back here letting you in on ‘how goes it’

grief
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.