Families logo

My sisters strength is infinite

The admiration I hold for my sister

By Katie JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5
Zachary, My Sister, Madison

I grew up living with siblings who shared a mother with me. I'm the middle child my sister is older and we have 2 younger brothers who share a dad. A dad who was married to our mother from the time i can remember which isnt much till I was about 13. At that point my mom had the strength to leave her abusive husband for a undeniably great man. My sister was somehow always finding trouble. I'll get back to that later, moving through the years I'm now 21, pregnant, and she is 23 with a son who was about 2. I kept having this reoccuring thought and I couldnt shake it cause it felt like a dream but somehow i knew it wasnt. I turn to my sister one day while were out on her balcony and I start by stating that I was unsure if this happened or not andyway I asked her if she remembered when we were little and our brothers dad was still in the picture and he would frequently call my sister into the bedroom, and I would always try to follow but he always said Amanda needs to give me a massage we will be out in a bit. Now I remember hardly nothing from these years of my life probably cause it was filled with sexual abuse and physical abuse. Anway, back to balcony after I asked this I could see my sisters eyes swell with tears and he response is a question, you remember that? I assume she assumed I just couldnt remember for the many possible reasons. She then began telling me about the sexual abuse she endured in that room, iot crushed me. All these years my sister 'lashing' out was simply cause she was once trapped. We agreed to take our mom to the park and confront her about this to see if she was aware. I remember her working alot, regardless she claimed she had no idea. No mother I think would ever willingly admit to being aware of their abuser also abusing their children. This had explained alot to me, why my sister was always out with friends cause she was trapped so when my mom finally left him she had freedom, it explained why I couldnt remember my childhood cause I possibly endured some abuse of which to this day I still do not know. Some more years pass her son is 8 mine is 6, in the previous years the only role model of a dad my siblings and I had commited suicide. My mother was nowhere to be found that night, she was cheating. Another anyway at this point Im in a shelter, and my sister is living in our childhood home with her son, her abusive baby daddy, and my younger brothers. My mother is off somewhere with her new boyfriend, noone cares, but someone has to care for my brothers. My sister did that until she got pregnant again, finally I thought a girl in our legacy full of men. I ended up leaving the shelter I was in so my son and I could go live in the house and someone could make sure my brothers graduate at the least. My niece Madison Lee was born October 13, 2016, about a month or 2 go by we all got Madison fever, I packed up with my son and went to visit for a day or 2 with my sister and my nephew and niece, forget about her p.o.s baby daddy. I'm playing with this beautiful little girl and as you'll see in the image her head was quite large. My sister followed up with the doctor and tragically my niece was diagnosed with brain cancer a rare form called AT/RT. This shook the foundation my sister built for my siblings and I and I was the nails trying to hold it together. I felt for her not just as my sister but as my mother and a fellow mother and a mother going through what noone would dream on their worst enemy. Thank goodness for my nephew cause he was with her always, he was and is my sisters foundation, without him I'm not sure I would have my sister on earth today. In 2018 Madison passed away after battling her cancer for 3 years..3 years longer than the doctors estimated. Recently my sister was having to be there for her new boyfriend who I might add has made her so happy, but he recently lost his dad. She was telling me about the night Madison passed away, the night they arrived in Disney for Make A Wish, and prior to all that she signed a pink slip, (i believe) which was a do not resuscitate form. Her boyfriends dad had just signed one, so in Florida and Madison takes her last breath in my sisters arms, eventually EMT's arrive and my sister remembers the slip she signed for Madison, and in that moment, that one selfish moment I have ever seen this woman have she stuffed the slip in her bag as if it didnt exist. My sister having so much trauma in her life and still having the strength to find the strength to simply get out of bed in the morning is the most admirable thing i THINK I will ever witness in my life. She is so many wonderful things to me, I don't know who I would've gone to for my questions about my son when I was stuck, or when I was homeless and she let my son and I live with her more than once. I can only ever hope that at some point in my life I can be as strong as she is. If I could remember, who knows where Id be, but she is the reason I'm reminded to keep going regardless of any crappy thing life throws at you. If she can make it through all that I can surely get through today.

siblings
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.