Families logo

The Tired Turtle.

An original bedtime story.

By Joe balmePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A tired turtle.

Remembering back to my childhood I remember my Mother and Nana reading me bedtime stories, mostly old Irish ones. As my mothers side, and of course half of me is from Ireland. When my mother took me at the age of 4, and ran away from my Overbearing and from what iv gathered, abusive Birth father from Syria. She took me from place to place, and from school to school. Changing my name and taking extra caution was the norm for us, as my Birth father was trying to find us, and there was a constant threat of me being taken.

Each new school and each new town brought with it new friends and challenges. The story my mother would always lovingly read me during this time to get me ready for bed was Dr Seuss's 'Cat in a hat'

Here is A Snippet from Dr Seuss's Cat In The Hat.

'that is good,' said the fish.

'he has gone away. yes.

but your mother will come.

she will find this big mess!

and this mess is so big

and so deep and so tall,

we can not pick it up.

there is no way at all!'

and THEN!

who was back in the house?

why, the cat!

'have no fear of this mess,'

said the cat in the hat.

'I always pick up all my playthings

and so...

I will show you another

good trick that I know!'

The cat in the hat.

A classic, This story has twist's and turn's and it never failed to make me feel loved after my mother tucked in all the sides and corners of my bed. She read this to me, gave me a kiss on the head and i was away to slumber land. Dreaming about cats in hats and the adventures they have.

Here is a short, original bedtime story iv wrote. Its called The Tired Turtle. I have no children of my own yet but when i do, maybe i will read this to them. Hope you enjoy. (try to stay awake)

The Tired Turtle.

There once was a turtle who's name was Teddy. Now please don't presume that just because old Teddy is Turtle. That nothing interesting ever happens to him. Its quiet the opposite! Yes he may be a turtle, and no, he may not go very fast, But that doesn't mean he doesnt have fun, and he goes on many many fantastic adventures!

On this particular day Teddy had been on his greatest adventure yet! he had set of from the blue coral reef where he lived with his family, and walked for 3 hours to Sunset beach to meet new friends and catch some fish to eat. He had given directions to a whale, gotten a free ride across the water on the bottom side of a boat, and caught a lovely juicy fish for his supper.

The only trouble is on the way back teddy had forgotten the direction to head in, and had gotten terribly lost. He turned in every direction but couldnt see anything he recognised.

'helloooooo!?? anyone know which way the blue coral reef is? - Teddy yelled out, But he got no answer, He asked a friendly looking crab which way to go but the crab was in a terrible rush and did not know.

Well, An hour passed and Poor old Teddy had become rather distressed. Then out of no-where! A huge family of whales rushed passed him bringing with them a gush and a rush of water. The passing family had pushed Teddy and he floated far, when he finally came to a stop to his amazement! he could see the old ship wreck he has to swim past on the journey to sunset beach. He new which way to go.

Teddy's took a huge breath of relief. He was thankfully facing the right direction, and so he took of again walking. After another 2 hours of exhausting travel. He was finally home, His Family all asked him about his adventure today, and teddy replied 'my loving family about my latest adventure i could tell you this and that, but i have learned one great lesson today. If you go on an adventure, ALWAYS-BRING-A-MAP.

With that Teddy pottered up the stairs and climbed into his comfy soft bed. I hope i have a dream about all the great adventures that i will have layed ahead. Teddy thought.

He took in a huge yawn and stretched out.

Goodnight Blue Coral Goodnight.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.