Families logo

The Puzzle Master

The Final Clue

By Mat PikePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
The Puzzle Master
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

It was funny, I never imagined that my grandfather even liked me, let alone loved me enough to leave me something in his will. Yet here I am, on my way to the lawyer's office to find out what I am about to inherit. I never got along with my grandfather, he was always asking me riddles and giving me puzzles he scrawled on bits of paper, when I couldn't solve them he would just huff and walk away shaking his head in disappointment; perhaps that's why I hadn't seen him for over 15 years, he was disappointed in me, or was it my choice?

The taxi pulled up beside the lawyer’s office, an entirely unimpressive building which looked more like a slum than an office building. Why would my grandfather hire a lawyer like this? I started to wonder if I should go through with this after all, but curiosity got the better of me and I paid the taxi fare and proceeded into the building.

The inside was no more impressive than outside, the foyer was almost derelict with paint peeling from walls, the single light fixture hanging from the roof flickering as if to alert all who enter of how close the entire building was to total ruin. The single elevator was out of order with caution tape strung across a half open door revealing a junkie who had passed out inside, at least I hope they had passed out. I proceeded to walk upstairs to the third floor quickly so as to finish this ordeal and move on with my life.

I was surprised to find an immaculate office open reaching the third floor, everything looked brand new from the carpets, to the lights and even the paintings on the walls. If downstairs hadn’t already put me into a state of shock then this certainly had, I didn’t even notice when the secretary came through the door and welcomed me to the office.

“You must be Mr. Kaplan” she stated in a warm voice

“Oh, uh, yes. That’s me. I’m here to see, uh, Mr. Finnigan” I stammered, trying to compose myself.

“Right this way please” she ushered me to follow her into the next office.

She gestured for me to sit in front of a large solid mahogany desk; the desk, the room even, was fitted out in a stereotypical lawyer style with large floor to ceiling bookcases full of legal reference books, the chairs were high back full leather with the most luxurious one behind the desk for the lawyer, I thought this must be to exert his authority. While I was still absorbing the absurdity of such a beautiful office in such an unexpected place Mr Finnigan entered the room.

“Ah, Mr Kaplan, nice to finally meet you. You know I wasn’t only your grandfather’s lawyer, but a good friend for many years. He spoke quite fondly of you.” He said as he sat down in his chair

“I’m surprised, I haven’t seen my grandfather in over 15 years, I thought he hated me.” I said surprised

“Not true, he always knew you were destined for greatness, he was always sad that he couldn’t provide it for you. I guess that’s why he left you what he did in his will. Shall we begin?”

“Please do, no offence, but I want to move on with my life and would like to get this over with.”

“I, Steven Kaplan, of sound mind and body” Mr Finnigan began “write this will, yada yada yada, do you mind if I skip over this to the important part?” he asked.

“Uh, no, that’s fine” I said, a little confused

“Ah, here we are, to my grandson Michael I leave my notebook and engraved lockbox. The entirety of the remainder of my estate is to be donated to charity” Mr Finnigan said, looking up at me as he finished reading.

I knew it, just one last action to show how disappointed in me he was. What was I going to do with a box and a notebook? I knew I shouldn’t have come here, just ignored the letter and went about my life.

“You say my grandfather spoke fondly of me, that he thought I could achieve greatness, then explain to me why he left everything to charity and gave me a book and a box?” I snarled

“Mr Kaplan,” he paused, his features softening, becoming almost grandfatherly “Michael, I don’t know why the book and box were important to your grandfather, but I do know he wouldn’t have left them to anybody else. They are in a box in the foyer with my secretary, please take them and think fondly of your grandfather”

The feeling of shock was coming back again now, this whole event seemed almost unreal, I got to my feet and met the secretary in the foyer to collect my new belongings. Slowly descended the stairs and hailed another taxi for my trip home. I didn’t even open the box, once home I put it on the kitchen table and went to bed, emotionally exhausted.

Morning came, as it always does, and as I stumbled through my kitchen in a drowsy haze my eyes caught sight of the box. I couldn’t leave it there forever, so I decided to open it. Sure enough, inside was the engraved box my grandfather used to toy with all the time when I was a child, beneath it was a little black book. I had never gotten a good look at the engraved box before, my grandfather would never let me play with it, but now holding it in my hands I could see the ornate engravings of the solar system, mathematical symbols, amazing machines and weird symbols; what it didn’t have was any openings, hinges, latches or locks. I was sure I remembered my grandfather having the box open on several occasions, but for the life of me I couldn’t see how that was possible. I put the box down in frustration and picked up the notebook. It was well used but in good condition, my grandfather had obviously been making notes and sketches for many years, as I flipped the pages it seemed to be full of riddles and puzzles, perhaps the ones he used to torture me with. There were sketches for puzzles and codes written throughout the book, but as I turned to the final pages I saw my name, it was a latter from my grandfather to me written inside the notes.

Michael, I’m sorry.

I’m sorry we weren’t closer, that I didn’t spend more time with you, that I didn’t reach out after your parents passed. You’re the only family I have left now and it pains me that I pushed you away so many years ago. The reason I pushed you so hard with those puzzles and riddles was because our family has a secret. We are entrusted guardians for a crystal of power. It is hidden from the world and protected by a series of magical locks, some locks are physical puzzles, others are riddles where you must utter the answer to unlock them. I know this will be hard to believe but once you open the box I have left you, you will understand.

That feeling of shock was coming back again. Was my grandfather senile? Or did he really have a secret mission to protect the world? It was impossible, surely. But still. The feeling in the back of my mind that there was some truth to this couldn’t be ignored.

I flicked through the pages of the book, to find a clue to opening the box, it wasn’t mentioned anywhere. This was another stupid puzzle my grandfather gave me that he would be disappointed I couldn’t solve. Just as I was about to put the book down, I saw a sketch inside of the solar system, the planets were all aligned, I looked at the box remembering that there was a similar engraving and saw that the planets were in different places. I looked closer and saw that the planets were on sliding rings and could move independently. Carefully I slid each planet into alignment in the same place as the sketch in the book. I heard a clicking sound and the box opened along a hidden seam.

Inside the box was some colourful gems, a large stack of money bound by elastic bands and another note written in my grandfather’s writing.

Michael

I’m sorry again. This time because I lied about the crystal of power, I just remember you were into all that science fiction stuff when you were a kid. But I did still give you a gift and want you to achieve greatness.

Take the money from this box, it’s $20,000 that I want you to use to make my puzzle sketches real. I have spent years designing these puzzles and there is nothing like them anywhere in the world. I want you to start a toy company and bring the joy of puzzles and riddles to kids all over the world.

I want you to know, every time you couldn’t solve a puzzle and I walked away shaking my head wasn’t because I was disappointed in you, but in myself. You were so smart that you could solve everything I designed, and if you couldn’t it meant that my design was broken. I have always been proud of you. Please put my money to good use and achieve greatness.

grief
1

About the Creator

Mat Pike

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.