Families logo

The Power of Small Moments

A Lesson in Kindness and Positivity

By Ashok kumarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Power of Small Moments
Photo by nrd on Unsplash

As I reflect on my life, I realize that it is the small moments that often have the greatest impact. One such moment occurred when I was in my early twenties and working at a fast-food restaurant. It was a typical day at work, and I was going about my tasks as usual. I had just finished preparing an order for a customer when I noticed something strange. The customer was staring at me, and as I looked up, he gave me a small smile and said, "Thank you, you made my day."

At first, I didn't think much of it. I figured he was just being polite, but as the day went on, I found myself thinking about his words more and more. I realized that even though it was a small moment, it had a big impact on me. I felt proud of myself for making someone's day, even in a small way. It made me realize that even though my job was not glamorous or particularly exciting, I still had the power to make a positive impact on people's lives.

Over time, that small moment at the fast-food restaurant began to have a ripple effect on my life. I started to pay more attention to the people around me and the impact that I could have on their lives, no matter how small. I began to see that every interaction, no matter how brief, had the potential to make a positive impact on someone's day.

As I continued to work at the fast-food restaurant, I made a conscious effort to be kind and friendly to every customer who came through the door. I would smile, make small talk, and ask how their day was going. And in return, I was often rewarded with grateful smiles and kind words.

But it wasn't just my interactions with customers that changed. I found that the ripple effect of that small moment extended beyond work and into my personal life as well. I started to treat my family and friends with more kindness and compassion. I made an effort to listen more and to be there for them when they needed me.

As I look back on that small moment in my life, I am struck by how much it has shaped who I am today. It taught me that even the smallest actions can have a big impact on others and that the way we treat others has a ripple effect that extends far beyond the initial interaction.

Now, years later, I try to carry that lesson with me every day. I strive to be kind and compassionate to everyone I meet, and I try to make a positive impact on the world around me in whatever small way I can. And it all started with a simple "thank you" from a stranger in a fast-food restaurant.

That small moment also taught me the power of positivity. The customer who thanked me that day didn't have to say anything at all, but he chose to focus on the positive and acknowledge the small act of kindness that I had shown him. His words of appreciation lifted my spirits and made me feel good about myself, which in turn inspired me to spread that positivity to others.

I have found that positivity has a snowball effect - when you focus on the good, it tends to multiply and spread to others. And while it's not always easy to stay positive in a world that can often feel overwhelming and negative, I try to remind myself of that small moment at the fast-food restaurant and the impact that it had on me.

Looking back, I realize that the small moment at the fast-food restaurant was not just about making someone's day. It was about recognizing the power that we all have to make a positive impact on the world around us, no matter how small that impact may seem. It was about recognizing the ripple effect of our actions and the ways in which we can spread kindness, compassion, and positivity to others.

In a world that can often feel cold and disconnected, it's easy to underestimate the power of small moments. But I have learned that these small moments can have a big impact on our lives, shaping who we are and the way we interact with the world around us.

So as I continue on my journey through life, I try to remember the lesson that I learned from that small moment at the fast-food restaurant. I try to focus on the positive, spread kindness and compassion wherever I go, and never underestimate the power of a small moment to make a big impact.

valuesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Ashok kumar

Amateur storyteller, you can expect me from all genres and also All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little motivational all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.