Families logo

The Petaridge Legacy

A Tale of Money and Values

By Gregory CholmondeleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Jason Petaridge shuffled in his seat at the rear of the conference room. The estate’s lawyer insisted that his attendance was mandatory but did not indicate why. Jason was the family’s black sheep, and the recently-departed Philip Petaridge despised his grandson’s soft, liberal attitude.

In Jason’s opinion, the self-made business tycoon, Philip R. Petaridge, was a crook who built his fortune by suing and eliminating competitors to create monopolies that overcharged and underserved. Jason was a familial outcast running for mayor. He was campaigning on protecting middle-class people from the predatory business practices championed by people like his relatives. His wealthy heritage was a liability in his political life, so he distanced himself from the Petaridge name as much as possible.

Daniel Feinblatt, Esq. opened a carefully-sealed package containing a letter and an elegant, black book. His audience sighed in relief as he unfolded a single sheet of paper. This will-reading ceremony would be brief.

The attorney recited, “I, Philip Petaridge, being of sound mind and legal age declare this to be my Last Will and Testament, and revoke all previous wills and codicils made by me, either jointly or severally. To each of my living descendants, except my grandson, Jason Petaridge, I give a sum of twenty thousand dollars.”

The erupting cacophony from the attendees interrupted Mr. Feinblatt for several minutes. Philip Petaridge’s estate was conservatively estimated at over sixty-million dollars! Twenty-thousand apiece was a slap in their faces. Jason, however, couldn’t help laughing. He fully expected to be cut out of Grandpa’s will but seeing his greedy relatives’ reaction to receiving paltry inheritances made his trip worthwhile. Jason typically hated his grandfather’s petty and abusive nature, but this time he relished the scathing insult to his relatives.

Mr. Feinblatt was sweaty, disheveled, and hoarse by the time he regained control of the meeting. “Please sit down,” he croaked. “The document continues with an explanation and details regarding distributing the remaining estate.”

The disgruntled crowd returned to their seats and glared at the irritated attorney behind his massive, mahogany desk. He gave them a dismissive glance before picking up the paper to resume reading. “I expect that the dispensation of my wealth has upset several of my relatives, so I provide the following rationale.

“First, all of you know I value self-reliance and despise entitlement. Every one of you has already benefited from top-notch education and lucrative employment opportunities. I refuse to support lives of leisure and strongly encourage you to leverage all that I have already provided you.

“Second, facing my ultimate deadline has caused me to reflect upon my life, relationships, and values. I look upon you, my progeny, and see a group of greedy, self-absorbed scoundrels. I realize that you are all reflections of myself. That is, except for my grandson, Jason.”

Jason had been lounging in his chair and straightened to attention at the sound of his name. He had never heard his grandfather speak like this.

Feinblatt continued, “Jason always rejected our values and lifestyle. He is empathetic and caring and would prefer to assist others than attain personal wealth. I have found myself thinking of his life choices frequently during my final days and comparing his beliefs to my own. Jason, we have always held diametrically-opposed business and political viewpoints. One of my few life regrets is that I never told you how much I respect your passion and commitment. You have stood tall and alone in this family with your liberal attitudes. I find your fierce independence to be a kindred spirit, which I do not see in any of your relatives. This realization has shaped my decision on how to distribute my wealth.

“Thus, after payment of my debts, expenses, and claims, I give the remainder of my personal property and effects in totality to my grandson, Jason Petaridge. This property includes my little black book containing personal notes on the secrets, dealings, and indiscretions of my business and political contacts. This book will be more valuable than the remainder of my estate in the right hands, and I entrust you to use it wisely. There is, however, one requirement for you to receive your inheritance.”

Daniel Feinblatt paused reading, anticipating an outcry from the family. However, the room was silent apart from a soft rustle as every occupant turned in their seat to face the shocked man in the last row. Jason Petaridge barely noticed them as he returned the lawyer’s gaze.

Feinblatt softly coughed and continued. “As I page through the densely-filled pages of my journal, I contemplate the impact I have wrought upon so many individuals throughout my years. Each leaf of my precious journal represents one or more lives that I have controlled, manipulated, or, in too many cases, ruined. As I run my finger across the smooth texture of each leaf, I envision spouses, lovers, competitors, enemies, or partners and contemplate how I have used or abused them. They deserve a final message from me, which I no longer have the time or ability to deliver.

“Jason, to claim your inheritance, you must personally and individually call everyone in my journal and read the message I inserted in the book verbatim. Please consider this my final life lesson to you and not merely an act of atonement by an old man facing death.

“Signed, Philip Reginald Petaridge.”

Feinblatt motioned for Jason to approach his desk, and the young man walked past the incredulous stares of his family to accept the proffered book. He was surprised at how substantial the journal felt in his hand. It almost imparted his grandfather’s presence as it settled into his palm. He thumbed through the pages filled with elegant handwriting until he came to a loose sheet near the middle.

Jason unfolded Philip Petaridge’s final message, which he must personally deliver to one hundred or more influential people.

Hello, this is mayoral candidate Jason Petaridge. I’ve been trying to reach you about your car’s extended warranty…

literature
Like

About the Creator

Gregory Cholmondeley

Writing vs. reading to me is similar to playing sports vs. watching games or playing video games vs. watching movies. All are fun, but I enjoy controlling my settings, characters, actions, and consequences. Check out my 5 novels on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.