Families logo

The miraculous healing of Emmalynn Upchurch

A cutis aplasia story

By Krystalyn TrammelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I had my first born in 2012, I wanted to give her a sibling but as you all know we don't always get what we want. So in May I started to feel off, I remember walking into work (wallyworld) and getting really dizzy but thought nothing of it so went about my business. A couple weeks later I decided to buy a first response and nearly shit myself when I saw that plus sign, I was finally pregnant, I couldn't believe it so went to the doctor and they told me I was almost 4 weeks. (yes I know very early but I found out around then with all 3 ) Well if you know me then you know I can't keep anything a secret so I told everyone we were having a baby. At 6 weeks I started bleeding and thought I had a miscarriage so I went to the doctor and they told me the baby is fine and has a heartbeat and sometimes these things happen. They called it a hemorrhage on the placenta but said that it will most likely heal and I'll have a healthy pregnancy. I bled for a couple more weeks and decided to leave my job and take it easy.

Life went on and of course I couldn't do anything but think about the new baby and what it would be like to have 2 daughters! Then one day I started bleeding again this time I was 30 weeks of course I was so scared. I went to the hospital and the guy on call said everything was fine and I must just have an infection and prescribed some meds. At midnight I knew something wasnt right because I didnt stop bleeding I ended up going to the hospital where I found out that there was a placental tear. I had to change hospitals because the one I was at couldn't deliver a baby at 30 weeks if it had to happen. I got checked in and thats where I stayed for the next 2 weeks. We were trying to at least get to 34 or 36 but my water started breaking at 32 weeks and I was rushed back for an emergency c section because there was an abruption. I layed on the operating table of course I was so scared, I didn't know what was going on everything happened to fast and then I heard crying!! My baby was crying I was so happy I layed there as they were cleaning her up and hooking her up to machines and a nurse came to talk to me and tell her there was something wrong with her skin and they have never seen anything like it. They flew her out to seattle childrens 4 hours away from me. I never even got to see what she looked like but she was 3lbs 8oz. That night I just layed there in shock .I got a call from the doctor and found out she tested positive for a very deadly virus that kills most newborns and babies. I almost fainted and got off the phone and then got updates at least once a day. When I was released 2 to 3 days after having her I went to Seattle to finally see her with her dad. She was so little and cute I loved her but was so scared of her. I couldn't hold her or touch her only talk with her I didn't hold her until she came back to the hospital she was born at, at 2 months old. Everyday she was gone I was hitting my knees praying to God for healing then one day I got a call when she was about 1 month old and they said her skin was starting to heal up by itself. I couldn't believe it I thought I was going to wrap her in bandages her whole life. We had a couple more scares in the hospital and she had to get a couple blood transfusions during her hospital stay. She had such a list of things wrong with her in the beginning it's hard to believe she is so healthy now! You can't even tell what she's been through when I tell people they look at me like I'm insane. I believe Jesus healed her because medical professionals are stunned she didn't have to get any skin grafts or anything. She finally got to come home in February 2019! Her nicu stay was so long and it was torcher waiting for her to be ready to come home. She has such a strong personality, she will be turning 3 on Nov 29th 2021. We have found out she is a little developmentally delayed and we are trying to get her into a special needs preschool but I know she won't be delayed for ever she is so smart she just can pronounce a lot of words yet but she has been a fighter up to this point so I know she will continue to surprise me. I love you my Emmalynn Upchurch!!

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.