Families logo

She was a human

The anencephalic infant

By Krystalyn TrammelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Raelyn just born

I get so mad when people say infants with anencephaly aren’t human. My daughter Raelyn was more human then anyone who says she wasn’t could ever be. There is a lot of misinformation out there about babies with this condition. When I was pregnant I was told that I should abort because she was nothing but a body that was still living but not really alive they would say. I would get so heartbroken because she deserved a chance at life just like anyone eles, I’m so glad I didn’t listen to the people who said it was a waste of time to carry her to term. It was a blessing getting to know her for the 9 months she was being developed in my body and the 23 days I had with her were amazing and it made everything I went through in my pregnancy worth it. If my story can help anyone decide to make the choice to continue there pregnancythen everything we went through was worth it.

They told me she wouldn’t respond to anything but she did! I know she could hear me because when I spoke she would jump or turn to a sound. They told me she wouldn’t move but she was a wiggle worm. They told me she wouldn’t make a sound but she cried. They told me she wouldn’t eat but guess what she did. If any of you reading this is going through what I did please give your baby a chance. There life’s may be short but it is so worth it to meet your child.

Now I’m not downing anyone who has aborted there baby with anencephaly because I know this was the hardest thing I ever had to go through and I’m sure the doctors told you that there was no hope at all for the baby and that it’s not even a “ real human” so please don’t think I’m coming against you because this was a hard decision to continue the pregnancy and I know deciding to end it is just as hard if not harder. I’m just trying to get real information out there, your baby can live even if it’s just 1 hour or 1 year, it’s worth it to wait and meet them, they deserve a chance. Look at her does she not act like a normal baby???? That is a human child right there! That is a baby!

(I will end with Katherines (my friend) speech that said at Raelyn's funeral)

Raelyn's life started out just right and her pregnancy was quite healthy, but around 20 weeks Krysta went for an ultrasound to see our sweet sunshine, and on Labor day 2019, the life of her mom and those close to her were changed forever when it was discovered that she would be born with a fatal birth defect. Though she would still prove to be such a light in our life's. Not a single person who met her could help but fall quickly in love with her, be it family, the nurses, or even my own kids who swoon over every picture of her. Without a doubt she knew love.

Despite her diagnosis of Anencephaly, she in every way was a normal baby! She had tummy aches, dirty diapers ,and got hungry- and cried to let us know it! She also knew who loved her and responded to that love with her smiles, her calmness and her ease. We enjoyed every second with her to the best of our abilities. In every single way she was so perfect!

full of life

Though her life was so short and seemed so small, there is no end to the impact it had. Her life touched many.

Our baby Raelyn (our sweet sunshine) She is much loved and desperately missed. Raelyns life though small, was so big and will leave an imprint in the lives of all of us until one day we meet her again

Last pictures

grief
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.