Families logo

The Great Avocado

Toast Disaster

By Wanderlust NinjaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
The Great Avocado
Photo by Daniel Dan on Unsplash

It was a beautiful Sunday morning, and I had just woken up with a craving for avocado toast. As a health-conscious millennial, this was a breakfast staple for me. I had all the ingredients ready to go: a ripe avocado, some whole wheat bread, a pinch of salt, and a squeeze of lemon juice. It was going to be the perfect start to my day.

Or so I thought.

I began to slice open the avocado with my trusty knife, when suddenly the avocado decided to fight back. With a slippery grip, the avocado flew out of my hand and landed on the floor, splattering green goo all over my kitchen.

I sighed and grabbed a paper towel, thinking that the worst was over. Little did I know, this was only the beginning.

As I began to mash the avocado in a bowl, I realized that I had forgotten to check the expiration date. Sure enough, the avocado was brown and mushy on the inside, and the lemon juice did little to mask the bad taste. I debated whether to just throw it out and start over, but my frugal nature won out, and I decided to soldier on.

I was determined to salvage my breakfast, however. I decided to add a pinch of cumin to the avocado to give it a little extra flavor. But as I was sprinkling the spice, the entire container of cumin slipped out of my hand and spilled all over the counter. I was beginning to feel like the universe was conspiring against me.

At this point, I was feeling defeated. But I wasn't ready to give up just yet. I decided to make the best of what I had and began to toast my bread.

As I was waiting for the bread to pop up, I noticed that my toaster was smoking. I quickly unplugged it, but not before it set off my smoke detector, causing a loud beeping noise to echo through my apartment. I frantically waved a dish towel in front of the detector, hoping to silence the alarm before the neighbors called the fire department.

By now, I was starting to feel like a walking disaster. But I still had one last chance to salvage my breakfast. I carefully assembled my avocado toast and took a bite.

And then, I promptly spit it out.

The toast was burned to a crisp, and the avocado was still gross. It was official: the avocado toast disaster of 2022 was a complete and utter failure.

I sat down at my kitchen table, defeated, and wondered where I had gone wrong. As I looked around my messy kitchen and laughed at the absurdity of it all, I realized that sometimes, the best moments in life are the ones where things go wrong. In fact, I started to see the humor in my avocado toast misadventure.

But as I was cleaning up the mess, I remembered an episode of a cooking show I had watched, where the host mentioned that adding a little bit of honey can make even a bad avocado taste better. I was skeptical, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

I scraped the burnt toast into the trash and started over. This time, I added a drizzle of honey to the mashed avocado, along with a sprinkle of black pepper. I toasted a fresh piece of bread and carefully layered the avocado on top. With trepidation, I took a bite.

And it was delicious.

The honey had balanced out the bitterness of the bad avocado, and the pepper added a nice kick. I was thrilled that I had found a way to turn my kitchen disaster into a delicious breakfast.

So the next time you have a kitchen disaster, remember that it's all part of the journey. And who knows? You might just end up with a funny story to tell.

singlehow toadvice

About the Creator

Wanderlust Ninja

Hi there! I'm Talha, a passionate blogger with a love for writing and storytelling. I've always been fascinated by the power of words to connect people, share ideas, and spark change, and that's what inspired me to start my own blog.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Wanderlust NinjaWritten by Wanderlust Ninja

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.