Families logo

The gains and losses

only a thought away.

By AbigaillPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

In the flow of time, life's gains and losses follow like a shadow. The years mercilessly take away some precious things, but also bring us new gains. In my short seventeen years of life, I have experienced the ups and downs of gain and loss, and I have also lost myself for a moment.

I remember losing my beloved father when I was ten years old. He taught me poetry and songs and manners and grooming, but he was gone forever when I was a pre-teen. Later, in high school, I met a teacher I didn't think much of at first, until he told me the story of Rockefeller and Ludlow. His manner and speech seemed to make me see the figure of my father, and that was the last story my father told me before he died. When I was ten years old, my father showed me how much he had learned by waving his books around in anger and sighing. Years later, my teacher brought it up, and it was like going back in time. Perhaps this is the cycle of gain and loss.

When I was eleven, I met a boy who amazed me. One might think that one is too young to feel too deeply. But I deeply admired his excellence, and he became a religion in my heart, teaching me how to grow up and face the hardships of life. But as time went by, he was no longer my faith and I no longer admired him, only disappointment remained. Yes, I lost the faith I once adored. But fortunately, I still have my dreams, and I am determined to reach for them and run after them. In the five years of faith, I too fell into the abyss of all depths ......

I too had light, but because of my faith, I hid my light, suppressed myself, fell into the abyss, and lost my once lonely and courageous self. I became afraid, afraid of loss.

At the age of fifteen, I was still struggling in the abyss of darkness, having used up almost all of my light trying to find a way out. I longed to escape the world and break out of the darkness. Then I met another person with a similar personality, a blazingly clean teenager who joined me in the abyss.

At seventeen, I finally broke through the shackles of the world and saw the sunlight again. There is very little light left in my body, and all the glory that once belonged to me is far from me. ...... I am not willing, but I must be willing. When I look back, there is no one behind me. At this moment, I am like a waster, fallen into the world, but also abandoned by the world.

In just seventeen years I have gained honor and lost friends. Once I was lost and did not know the future, and once again I was lost and did not know where to return.

Then I broke through the dust net, washed away the dust, and looked away from myself, lost in time.

Fortunately, I found myself in the middle of an abyss of uncertainty. I like a quote from a writer: "Looking back is nothing but a false alarm. Yes, the past is like a dream, in the depths of prosperity, will eventually return to silence.

I am a visitor to the green mountains, a sparse, a smile, a wild. Gain and loss, fleeting, although I had fallen into the mire of the world, but I still retain their true nature. Later I realized that although I had lost some things, I had not lost everything I had gained.

Life is always a mixture of gain and loss. I also experienced the joy of losing and regaining what I once lost, and my former solitude and fame became my inner salvation, freeing me from the waves of the world.

In the days to come, I will surely continue to experience gain and loss, but now I have already looked down on gain and loss, and although I am still afraid of loss, I am no longer afraid of losing anyone.

artvaluesparents
Like

About the Creator

Abigaill

Love swimming, fitness, and even more storytelling! Married!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.