Families logo

The Eye of the Cardinal

The miraculous story of my grandma and I

By Bobby BushnellPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Through the eye, we discover the connection between the physical and spiritual realm. Any new venture or work we take on brings us new experiences, insights, and understanding of ourselves and the world around us. In order to achieve what many think is impossible, we must be willing to step into the unknown and embrace the mystery. By letting go while stepping into the blindness of night, we discover a new light that reveals a power within which guides the self into the magnificent wonders of the universe, mother nature, the divine, and the all seeing eye of God!

My name is Bobby Bushnell and my miracle partner was my grandma. Together, we set out to achieve what many told us was impossible. As a healer, counselor, and mentor; I’ve always challenged the ways of society and struggled to find people who truly believed in me and my works. My passion for health is off the charts and through constant practice, I knew that I could transform the mind, body, and spirit of others regardless of what their medical charts read. In order to achieve the unthinkable, sometimes we have to let go of everything we’ve been taught and told by the outside world. By letting go, we allow the universe, mother nature, and the divine to work for us. Through perseverance, we awaken the eye of God who watches us along our journey and is delighted to send us more knowledge, wisdom, and understanding for the trust we put into the mysterious spiritual forces of the universe.

My grandma was diagnosed with stage 4 kidney failure. She was on the verge of dialysis and experienced spiraling emotions of depression, anxiety, and hopelessness. However, a tiny bit of hope is all that is needed to embrace our struggles. That hope begins to grow and eventually transforms into faith that gives us the power to overcome suffering and experience miracles. It’s our trust and knowing that what we set out to accomplish is already achieved in the future. Through the power of faith, we not only conquer and attain what we’re striving for, but we are given exceedingly, abundantly, and above all more than what we could ever imagine. We come across the unexplainable phenomena of the universe, which is what truly defines the miracle. And so the story begins!

One night, as I was meditating, I felt the presence of my grandpa and was given an insight to bring my healing practices to my grandma. Sure enough, the next day, my dad reached out to me and asked if I would be willing to train my grandma as well as organizing her nutrition. I was delighted to and couldn’t wait to head over to my grandmas to explain everything we’d be doing over the next couple months. I ordered all her supplements and went out to the local food market to buy her food.

Over the next couple of weeks, I prepared her meals, performed breathing and visualization practices as well as exercises to increase blood flow. My grandma had severe eczema and so we eliminated all the mucus forming foods like dairy and meats. We substituted these foods with a collagen protein shake that had just enough protein to keep her strong, but not too much where it would affect her kidneys. We increased her intake of fruits and vegetables to help detox her body of all the toxins and free radicals. After about 2 months, her eczema had vanished and her skin was bright and vibrant.

Next, my grandma’s blood pressure was high and she struggled with anxiety. We started the day off with breathing techniques that included long exhales. The long exhales helped relax her nervous system and for the first time in a while, I began to see my grandma smile again. After 4 months, her blood pressure came down and was consistently in the normal range. We started to walk outside to the end of her driveway and back up. As we got to the end of her driveway one day, I looked out, and then back over over to my grandma and said,

“Soon, we’re going to be able to walk around this entire block.”

She gave me a puzzled look and said,

“I don’t know Bobby, that seems way too far, let's just stick with the driveway, And that.”

“Just wait grandma, we’ll be able to walk around this entire block no problem,” I told her.

“Okay, whatever you say, And that,” she answered.

As the weeks went by, I no longer had to wake my grandma up in the mornings when I arrived. She was up, energetic, and eager to begin training. We did our exercises in the sunroom. Mid-way through our workouts, there was always a red cardinal that would fly on the same tree branch in the same window next to where my grandma would sit. My grandma would pop right out of her chair in excitement every time the cardinal would show up saying,

“There’s the cardinal!”

I would look back at her saying,

“See grandma, it’s grandpa coming down from heaven to watch us train.”

She would smile back at me with enormous joy. You could just see how the cardinal revived her spirit. Everytime the cardinal would show up, it sparked a light within her that helped her blow through the exercises with ease. The dumbbells became weightless and the movements became like a dance. The cardinal is what gave my grandma the strength to continue fighting for her health even when things seemed impossible.

After the workout, we would sit together in her sunroom with our eyes closed while listening to miracle frequencies that I recorded on my phone. I would tell my grandma to visualize her kidneys being healed. Imagine the doctor telling you that your creatinine levels have dropped and your kidneys are fully functional. I would play the recording of the miracle frequency and together, we put ourselves in the emotional feeling of our goal already being accomplished. As the weeks went on, her creatinine levels were dropping. Finally, after 6 months, her creatinine levels were in the normal range. My dad came to me with her medical charts showing me that her kidneys were fully functional. As months went on, her kidneys stayed in the normal range and her vitality, mood, and overall health prospered. Her stage 4 kidney failure was completely reversed!

My grandma and I continued the exercises as well as the visualization practices in her sunroom. As we were going through her exercises one day, there was a second cardinal that showed up on the same tree branch and in the same window. My grandma burst out of her chair in awe and said,

“Look Bobby, there’s two cardinals on the branch now!”

I looked at her and said,

“Wow, maybe this one is grandma Anderson coming to join grandpa to watch us train.”

As days went on, those two cardinals would fly by and show up during our training sessions. They both gave my grandma her second wind half way through our training sessions. Then, one day as we were making our way to the sunroom, there was a third cardinal that appeared on the same tree branch and in the same window. My grandma shouted,

“The cardinal and there’s the other one! Wait, there's one more! Wow, three cardinals all in one day! I’ve never seen that before.”

My grandma and I were both fascinated by the appearance of the three cardinals. All three cardinals then flew off the tree branch and on top of my car. Then, they all flew underneath my car and back onto the tree branch. My grandma wanted to go outside right away to do our walk down the driveway. As we made it to the end of the driveway, my grandma began to turn around. I paused her and said,

“Wait grandma, let’s keep going.”

She looked back at me and said,

“You want me to keep going. Okay Bobby, I’ll try!”

We walked 30ft off her driveway and paused, so my grandma could catch her breath. Then, she began to turn around and I said,

“No grandma, lets keep going.”

“Alright, whatever you say,” she responded.

We walked another 30ft and another 30ft and another 30ft. Before you knew it, we were 10ft away from walking around her entire block. As we were 10ft away, the three cardinals appeared again flying past us and above us. My grandma smiled and said,

“There they are again Bobby, look!”

The last 10ft had no affect on my grandma as she was looking at the cardinals as we were walking the final steps to her driveway. Once we arrived on the driveway, I smiled with great joy at my grandma and said,

“We did it grandma! We walked around your entire block.”

She looked back at me with great excitement and said,

“It had to be the cardinals.”

I nodded my head, saying,

“Yep, they gave us the strength to continue pressing forward.”

I hugged my grandma so tight saying,

“I’m so proud of you grandma. You did it. We walked around your entire block in just under 30 minutes.”

We walked up the driveway and I grabbed two chairs for us to sit outside and enjoy the presence of mother nature. Instead of playing the miracle sound on my phone, we meditated on the sound of nature with the birds chirping, leaves blowing, and a cooling breeze. As we finished, we both walked back inside into her sunroom. I grabbed us both some waters, gave my grandma a hug and said,

“Great Job grandma, see you again bright tomorrow morning.”

She kissed me and said,

“Sounds good Bobby, maybe we’ll see four cardinals tomorrow!”

A couple years passed and my grandma continued our practices every day. I moved out to Tennessee and continued to talk to her throughout the week over the phone. Then, one day, my car broke down and got towed to the local car repair store. It was just under a 30 minute walk from my apartment. After three days, I got the call from the repair shop that my car was ready to be picked up. As I was walking, there were 4 cardinals that appeared. I thought of my grandma right away. When I picked up my car, I got a call from my mom telling me that my grandma had just suffered from a stroke a few hours ago. She was unresponsive and half the side of her body was paralyzed. I was in total shock and heartbroken. When I went to bed that night, I dreamt of those same 4 cardinals I saw when I was walking to pick up my car. Looking at the eye of the cardinal, I heard my grandma’s voice saying,

“Bobby, Bobby, Bobby!”

I woke up that morning in tears calling my dad on the phone asking if my grandma was okay. He explained that she was paralyzed and unresponsive permanently with a crack in his voice. A few days later, she passed away. Although paralyzed and unresponsive a few days before her passing, after hearing her voice in my dream while looking at the eye of the cardinal, I knew that she had already passed over. The 4th cardinal was my grandma coming to see me for the last time.

After the day of her passing, I cried. I didn’t want to talk to anyone or do anything. As I got myself together, I went outside to grab my mail. As I was walking, a cardinal flew right past me and landed on the tree branch next to my apartment. I looked at the cardinal and smiled. It gave me the energy and strength to continue pressing forward with my days as it did with my grandma. After that day, I knew my grandma was letting me know that she will always be with me, in me, around me, and watching over me from the heavens and through the eye of the Cardinal!

grief
1

About the Creator

Bobby Bushnell

My name is Bobby Bushnell. I'm the CEO and owner of Inner Eye Fitness LLC. I'm also the author of, "Inner Eye 3-6-9," and the founder of the, "Inner Heroes For Humanity," Foundation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.