Families logo

The day two of my worlds collided

Power Rangers and Family

By Daniel McLeodPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

For me, I have very few things that I consider truly important enough in my life that I would call treasures. One of them being my family and another being my love for Power Rangers. It was something I never would have thought imaginable yet I'm glad for the aftermath. I was in my Sophomore year of high school and at a new school at that. My sister and I both attended the same school, Her in her junior year. While attending and looking at the electives, My sister picked a class called Aerialist which is basically teaching people how to do tricks in mid-air and such while I chose to take Karate. Months later, the teachers of that class put on a farewell performance since they were professional performers and travelled around a lot. I decided to go see the performance and thought that the show was one of the coolest things I had ever seen, so I decided to go up to one of them and say hi and tell him what I thought of the show. He enjoyed my complements and in return the two of us began talking for a bit about aerialists and what they do, after that he then told me to keep pushing for my goal, no matter how out of reach it may seem. As much of a teacher-like line it was I still somewhat held onto it subconsciously just like any other bit of advice I was given at the time.

It wasn't until years later when I saw that very same instructor my sister had on tv as not only a power ranger, but as the red ranger for one of the seasons of power rangers. I was so stunned to see him on the screen that I personally had to watch every episode of that season as it aired. And to make it better, When I had told my sister of her instructor she would immediately watch the show with me just to see her old instructor on the screen regardless of what the episode was about or anything else. While watching and even after the season finished, I decided to try and follow his example and tried to get out there to be my best self or as close as I can to get as close to being a good example of a role model that he was for other people. As luck would have it, Years later a friend that I met was able to send me a video message that I mistook for a picture of the two of them which said that he would like to meet me someday so that we could properly meet. When or if that day comes, I would like to be able to look him in the face and not only say how big of a fan I am, but how much of what he does and did has impacted my life ever since that one spur of the moment decision that day when I decided to go and watch his aerialist performance at my high school all those years ago and if given the chance I would do the same thing all over again.

Even if I don't get to meet him again, I'll still be glad that I was able to see him that one time and have that video reminder to keep me going in hopes of a possible meet-up. Until that day, I'll always be working hard to make sure that I can keep up and pave a way for others in everything that I do just like Brennan did for me. And until we meet again, that's what I will continue to do.

valuessiblingscelebritiesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Daniel McLeod

I am an aspiring author who gears more towards the sci-fi fantasy genre of fiction. My stories tend to be based in modern times, from earth going out into the far reaches of space and even different realms.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.