Families logo

The Colors Of My Dragon's Scales

She Was Always Meant to Soar

By A. J. SchoenfeldPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
9
Safe in the Wings of My Dragon

I saw her as the most stunningly beautiful creature imaginable. Graceful in her movements, confident in her melodic voice, with bright shining eyes that could captivate your soul. She stood out from the ordinary creatures around her; the sunlight dancing across the rainbow jewellike scales along her back. When she spread her pearlescent wings wide, the world would stop and stare in awe. I had the fortune of growing up in the shadow of those wings.

In the beginning, my Dragon had light creamy orange scales with small undeveloped translucent wings. Though she could not yet fly, she could climb. She would scamper up the side of my crib and stare at me with her wide hazel eyes trying to decide if I should be kept or sent back. When I’d start to cry, her scales along her back would change, turning deep blue as she’d scurry over the edge of the railing and curl up next to me, wrapping her wings about my shoulders. Having her near always calmed my fears and we would lie next to each other and giggle.

My Dragon on the Swings

My Dragon grew bigger and her vibrant scales began to change, becoming a spectacular saffron punctuated with streaks of grassy green. Her wings grew more leathery, yet they were still too small for anything more than a short glide from a high perch. But she was too eager to wait for her wings to develop, she wanted to fly now. We would race out to the backyard and jump onto the swings, climbing higher and higher into the sky. Dragon, fearless, spread her wings wide at the top of the arc and leapt into the air. I'd watch her glide gracefully to the ground and leap after her. Far less graceful, I'd tumble to the ground and tear open the skin on my knee.

“Dragon,” Mother would scold, “Amber doesn't have wings like yours. You can't teach her to do such dangerous things!”

Suddenly, Father got sick. My Dragon’s scales turned an ashen gray. She refused to spread her wings for others to admire. I overheard mother whisper to her, “Amber doesn’t have fire in her belly like you do, Dragon. You must be strong for her.” Dragon opened her wings wide just for me and wrapped them tight around my shoulders, her scales shimmering blue once more. I could feel the fire burning deep inside her and it gave me courage to face what may lie ahead.

Dragon and Me Flying High as Teenagers

As Father got better, My Dragon’s scales slowly returned to their familiar bright saffron and grassy green. My Dragon's wings had become strong, though still not ready for full flight. She could flutter short distances, but railed against her limits. She wanted to soar, she was meant to soar. Gradually, her scales became more and more deep red, every day more smoke billowed from her nostrils and the rest of us choked and coughed on the acrid cloud hanging in the air. Sometimes, in frustration, she’d scream and streams of fire would burst from her mouth. More than once, she burned us accidentally and her scales would flash a dark sultry purple before she’d run from the room and hide. Father would wait for her to calm down then I’d hear him lovingly tell her, “Dragon, it’s hard now but you’ll be fully grown soon. Don’t be in such a rush all the time.”

Father was right, all too soon, My Dragon flew off with the sun glinting off her spectacular wings as she disappeared over the horizon. But she didn't stay away for long. When she returned, everything had changed. Beaming, she opened her wings wide to reveal a small bundle with pale yellow scales and tiny pearly wings. She stayed close to home, echoing Mother and Father's words of warning as her own Baby Dragon spread his wings too soon and, with scales turning saffron and green, tried to fly before he was ready. More Baby Dragons came and I watched My Dragon's beautiful wings become forgotten, used only to chase after her brood and her vibrant scales faded to white.

Dragon Becomes a Mother

I heard Father tell her one day, “Dragon, you're a wonderful mother but you've forgotten your wings and the fire in your belly. You were meant to soar. It's time to spread your wings and show your little Dragons how to fly.”

Reminded of what she was, My Dragon's scales shimmered in a vibrant rainbow. She roared with fire billowing from mouth. Her little Dragons all turned their faces toward her call, spread their own pearly wings, and climbed high into the sky after her. I watched the sunlight dance across their backs as My Dragon disappeared over the horizon with five stunning creatures soaring behind her.

siblings
9

About the Creator

A. J. Schoenfeld

I only write about the real world. But if you look close enough, you'll see there's magic hiding in plain sight everywhere.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    This is truly beautiful! And I will say it: I hope you win!

  • Rachel Robbins2 months ago

    I love how you wove the dragon imagery throughout all of this. It felt like more than a metaphor.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    A wonderful tribute to your sister? The deep respect you have for her is palpable. I love the use of the dragon imagery to augment your picture of how she was to you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.