Families logo

The Christmas Present Cabbage Patch Doll

How I got this for Christmas is really special & rememberable

By Tara FirmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Cabbage Patch Doll Present

This is about a very special Christmas story with my family. When I was little I never wrote a letter to Santa ever telling him what I wanted. Every year I would get the most cool presents & this is one of those special times.I was 8 years old we had just moved to West Chester Ohio from Bowling Green Ohio. My parents in Bowling Green found a really kind,caring babysitter, they wouldn't leave me with just anyone. So when we moved here they hadn't found one yet to watch me while they did Christmas shopping.

We were at Rink's in Fairfield, Ohio their no longer around their kind of like Walmart.So I was with them while they were shopping. My dad went off in one direction while I was holding my mom's hand. We were looking around & man that store was being hit hard I remember items being on the floor,it was a mess because of the sales they were having & because it was Christmas time about 3 days away.

Dad came over & whispered in my mom's ear I got it & she was like are you serious yes take Tara to the car. So she said come on Tara lets go to the car & wait for your dad there. I was like what is going on? So we got into the car & waited for about 5 minutes or so,to me it was like forever.I asked mom when is dad coming? She said I don't know. Then we heard some people talking,I turned around to look out the back window there was my dad walking with 2 police officers. Mom said Tara you stay in the car. I was very worried I thought he had stolen something & I was thinking please don't take my dad away I don't want anything for Christmas just them.

Then I heard some laughing & the officers saying oh yeah these things are a hot item this year. People are being robbed. I heard my dad said Oh really? I had no idea what they were talking about. They said well you folks have a wonderful Christmas & stay safe. My parents got into the car & I said what's going on? I can't remember what he said anyway Mom said Jerry I can't believe you won.He said yeah I know. So I sat in the back seat wondering what was going on.

About 3 or so days later Christmas day was here & man was I ever excited. I went into their room to wake them up,they said ok ok hold on don't go down there without us. So we got down stairs & man were there a lot of presents under the tree.There she was the Cabbage Patch doll. I had seen them on tv but never really requested for one. That was the very 1st present I opened up.To be honest I can't even remember what the other presents were that I had gotten. My mom began to tell me what had happened. She said your dad won a raffle drawing for her & that people were being robbed as they left the store so that's why the 2 officers walked your dad out of the store with it.I was like NO WAY WOW.

So as I opened up the box that she was in of course we had to fill out the paperwork which was really neat to send in the adoption papers for her. You could change the dolls name her name was Mildred I said mom I don't really like this name can we change it? NOW here's something really interesting. My Great Grandmother's name was Mildred. She told me & said well we could name her Millie I said ok I like that. So that was her name. I'm 46 years old now & man it made me wonder a lot about life after death & how they really do look after us.

That Christmas was the most special Christmas ever. I hope I don't ever forget this special moment in my life.There's a few other special moments that I will share with you as to what my parents did for me,my brother & sister.I hope & pray that every child gets parents like mine.

parents
1

About the Creator

Tara Firman

Hi I love to cook & bake & take care of my pets. I also enjoy making hand made wire jewelry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.