Families logo

The Challenge

It's crazy how one book can change a young girl's life.

By Jordan BarreraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
5
The Challenge
Photo by Brandi Redd on Unsplash

It all happened so fast. One thing led to another, and things were getting out of hand. In the end I was the one that got hurt. I was the one betrayed by the people I love.

It started like any normal Friday would. I would wake up, get ready for the day and go to the library. Ever since I was a little girl my parents have struggled with money. So, when I turned 16 I got a job to help out.

Lately, my parents have been acting very strange. Any time I would confront them, they would tell me nothing is going on. My mistake was believing them. I ended up going to a new library that day with my friend, Carmine.

“If your parents say nothing is going on. Then, it means nothing is going on Sol.”

(They call me sol, short for Marisol.)

“You don’t get it Carmine. It’s a different kind of strange. I know they are hiding something.” I said as I pulled a little black book off the shelf.

The book alone was intriguing mainly because it looked like a journal. However, it was the title that made me want to read it even more. It was called “ In The End She Is The Last One Standing.” As I was looking through the book I found a couple things interesting. First, the author’s name was nowhere to be mentioned. Secondly, the book was written in the form of several letters. However, there would be one letter and the next page would be blank. The most interesting thing of all was they were all directed to the character that had the same exact name as me. The first letter began with “My dearest Marisol Vanegas.” It continued on by saying “I know you are going through tough times right now. But, there is a way to not only help your family but a way to help yourself. If you want to pay the bills and get your parents out of debt come to the address found in the next letter.” And, it would end with “Sincerely a friend.”

I found this very intriguing, I was about to keep reading until Carmine told me she had to go. So, I said bye to her and immediately went back to reading the book. The second letter started of with “Sol means sun and you are the sun in my life always shining bright.” I thought this was weird because my mom tells me the exact same thing. I also thought it was weird because it looked like her handwriting. But, I told myself it had to be a coincidence until I kept reading. “Think this is a coincidence? Well it’s not… I told you there is a way you can help your family and there is. Come to 1450 West Avenue Lane on 66th street, at 4;50 p.m. on February 19th 2021.” This can’t be happening there is an actual way to help my family, this seems like something you would see in a movie. Once again I began reading and I got chills, it was as if the person who wrote this knew me. The letter continued on with “I know what you are thinking Sol and this isn’t a movie it is real life. Walk into the building and tell the man at the desk you are here for the challenge. You will have to compete in a challenge and if you win you will win $20,000. Enough money to help your parents out of debt and enough money to pay rent for the next couple of months.”

I looked up at the clock and it was 3:50 I immediately went running out of the library. The address given to me was across town so I had to ride the metro. As I was running to the bus station I bumped into another girl. I immediately got up and started running again. As I started running I just yelled “Sorry!” Once I finally got on the bus it took about 30 minutes to get to the town I needed to be in. Then, I started sprinting that way I would make it to the building on time. When I got there it was 4:48 so I ran in and said “I am here for the challenge.” The man pointed to the elevator and said “Go to the rooftop and walk into the greenhouse. They are holding the challenge in there.” When I got to the top I saw a girl and she looked familiar. I walked up to her and said “Hi, my name is Marisol. What is your name?” She scoffed and said “Wait a minute, aren’t you the girl that ran into me? My name is Penny oh and you’re going down by the way.”

All I stuttered out of my mouth was “oh okay.” Once, I said that the lights went out and I heard a familiar voice. It almost sounded like my dad’s voice. The person said “LET THE CHALLENGE BEGIN!” The lights came on and I saw my mom. My mouth flew open, she quickly ran up to us and handed us some clothes. We quickly got changed, before we started the challenge I was able to speak to my mother. I told her “Mom what are you doing here?! Is this the new job you were talking about?” All she said was “If you win all of your questions will be answered and you won’t have to worry about me or your father anymore.” That is when she pushed Penny and I onto a small ledge. On that ledge was a rope where we were instructed to hold onto it. As time passed, we had to raise one of our legs off the ledge. Penny started to wobble but she got her balance back. An hour had passed, my legs were shaking, my grip was giving out, and I was getting tired. Right as I was about to give up they told us to hold onto the rope with only one hand.

Both Penny and I were struggling but I knew I couldn’t give up. I needed the answers to my questions. When I was about to let go and just go home Penny fell. I did it! I won the 20,000 dollars and I was going to get the answers I was looking for. My mom ran up to me and gave me a hug. She then told me “I want you to go get the book and read the third and final letter.” I did as she said and opened the book. It said “Dear Marisol, your father and I aren’t actually poor. We are very wealthy people. We have been lying to you because your father is a stingy man and didn’t want to waste the fortune. He will gladly spend money on other things except his own family. He orchestrated this event so he could help someone in need. I planned it out so you could at least try and win. You will be going to college soon and you need money. I thought that this was my way to help you and to try and make up for my mistakes.” I couldn’t believe this, my whole life was a lie. And, the people that I thought had my best interest really didn’t.

“Sol, I know this is probably very upsetting but you need to know that I’m trying to help you now.”

“Now?! Now, you are trying to help me? I thought that you and dad were drowning in debt. I thought you and dad were struggling to pay rent. I spent my childhood working instead of actually being a kid.”

At this point we both had tears in our eyes. All she did was hand me my check and I left. For the last months I was in New York I spent them at Carmine’s house. Now I am the owner of my own production company. I haven’t spoken to my parents ever since that day. There are times where I wonder what they are up to. Sleepless nights where I ask myself, what if I never went to that library that day? But, I’m glad I did because now I know the truth all thanks to a little black book. Well, that’s all I have for today guys. Thank you for tuning into your daily dose of Sol’s Podcast, until next time.

:

immediate family
5

About the Creator

Jordan Barrera

“𝔼𝕧𝕖𝕣𝕪𝕠𝕟𝕖 𝕊𝕙𝕠𝕦𝕝𝕕 𝔹𝕖 𝔸𝕓𝕝𝕖 𝕋𝕠 𝔻𝕠 𝕆𝕟𝕖 ℂ𝕒𝕣𝕕 𝕋𝕣𝕚𝕔𝕜, 𝕋𝕖𝕝𝕝 𝕋𝕨𝕠 𝕁𝕠𝕜𝕖𝕤, 𝔸𝕟𝕕 ℝ𝕖𝕔𝕚𝕥𝕖 𝕋𝕙𝕣𝕖𝕖 ℙ𝕠𝕖𝕞𝕤, 𝕀𝕟 ℂ𝕒𝕤𝕖 𝕋𝕙𝕖𝕪 𝔸𝕣𝕖 𝔼𝕧𝕖𝕣 𝕋𝕣𝕒𝕡𝕡𝕖𝕕 𝕀𝕟 𝔸𝕟 𝔼𝕝𝕖𝕧𝕒𝕥𝕠𝕣.“

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.