Families logo

The Baby Formula Recall Is Serious!

Why are we acting as if this crisis doesn't exist?

By Crystal McGrawPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Cover photo is by, myself: Crystal McGraw.

On February 17th, 2022 Similac Voluntarily recalled "Similac PM 60/40 . The code on the container contains K8, SH or Z2. The expiration date is 4-1-2022 (APR 2022) or later."

This recall did not and has not affected only one type of formula but several. All Lot numbers that were recalled were all from one specific plant in Michigan. I myself had to throw away a couple of cans due to falling into one of those container codes.

Image obtained via Google Image search "Similac Formula Recall"

According to MotherhoodCommunity.com, the FDA's findings for this plant was not good at all. And I quote; "The FDA’s preliminary findings show the following: Failure to maintain the sanitary conditions of surfaces used to prepare and handle formula.

History of eight instances of Cronobacter bacteria contamination between fall 2019 and February 2022.

Failure to establish a system of process controls that covers all stages of processing to ensure that baby formula doesn’t become contaminated due to the presence of microorganisms (e.g., Cronobacter bacteria) in the formula or in its processing environment."

Sadly at the beginning 4 babies became ill with bacteria infections and 2 of those babies passed away. May they rest in peace. And there have been more cases of illnesses since then. This is something that could have been prevented completely if it wasn't for the carelessness and incompetence of a Multi-Billion (Not Million, BILLION) dollar company.

Image obtained via Google Image search "Similac Formula Recall"

This is absolutely not okay! This is not only affecting the residents of Michigan but people Nationwide. Why is no one still talking about this? Stores still have empty shelves of formula. And not just empty of Similac, empty of many other brands as well. This is because parents, caretakers, even other family members and friends are trying to ensure babies are fed. Trying to find the closest match to your baby's formula is not easy. Trust me when I say I know this all too well. As I stood at the now locked up formula case in the front of the grocery store checkout lane for at least a good 10 minutes trying to figure out which baby formula most closely matched the one my 3 month old daughter takes because even on the rare chance I do find it, it's only the huge cans, which of course she'll use but these cans are upwards of $40 or more. I became frustrated. Not just for myself or my baby but for others as well. Not everyone can just go out and spend that much on a can of formula at once. Why is this not a bigger deal!? I am angry! I am saddened for those who are struggling to feed their babies. I am hopeful that those who can only afford these cans of formula via help from WIC(Women, Infants, Children) find a way. They only provide a certain ounce sized can and these size cans are not available. I did find the closest match I could to my baby's formula, she has sensitivities. For the 14oz can of special formula that I am hoping is comparable to what she normally takes, I paid $28. $28 cash for a 14oz can of formula, that will probably last her 2, maybe 3 days. Let that sink in.

People think it's as easy as , "Well, if you're having trouble finding formula for your baby then just breast feed." Yes, I've heard this and you are ignorant. It's not that easy. Although, I do believe it's a Mother's choice either way. Everyone doesn't just not breastfeed for the sake of not doing so. Some women cannot produce milk. Or cannot produce enough milk. Some women have to supplement with a breast milk/ formula combo. My Sister in Law's sister produces milk greatly, however her 1 month old baby can't have it because there is something in breast milk that makes him sick. He is on a Similac formula made for sensitivities. My 3 month old is also on a Similac made for Sensitivities and allergies. The Original Similac made her sick while we were still in the hospital. The doctor switched her to Similac Sensitive, after having that for a week she was still getting sick so her doctor put her on the next sensitive/allergy one. So you see, it's not as easy as just buying the scarce remains of whatever formulas are left on the shelves. It's more than that, we still have to ensure our babies are getting what they need while still understanding that some of these babies need something special.

Photo obtained via Google Image search "Similac Formula Recall"

I can only imagine that I'm not the only other parent out there that has stood there comparing formula ingredients with what my baby normally takes to every single other brand of formula that contains the words hypoallergenic/sensitivity to see which one matches the ingredients of hers the most. Because that one or two ,off ingredients can be the thing that upsets her stomach or makes her sick again. We have babies out there who have milk allergies, lactose intolerance, colic, extreme gas and fussiness due to other tummy issues. This is why there are, (or should I say were?) so many different types of baby formula out there. Every single baby requires different care and this formula formula shortage is not helping!!

People are judgmental. And I know a lot of people probably think if someone can't afford the more expensive cans, well maybe they shouldn't have had children. No, you're naïve! Buying a $40 can of formula is much different than being able to buy a $16 can when you need something to just last a couple days. Last time I bought my baby's specific formula when I did find a big can, I bought 3. 3-26oz cans of baby formula. 3! Those 3 cans cost me $110 and that was with having coupons for $3 off each can. That was with my $9 savings. There have been times when I've driven to 4,5, plus stores in search of the formula I needed for my baby with absolutely no luck. Drive an hour or two away still, with no luck. And I know others that have done the same. It's not okay. Online, many retailers are requiring consumers to purchase a minimum amount of cans if they order online, which are the big cans by the way. This is absolutely wrong, someone I know could only get her baby's formula online that way. The minimum? 4 cans! That's absurd. She had to spend $160 to buy formula to feed her baby who literally CANNOT be breastfeed.

Image obtained via Google Image search "Abuse of Power"

This recall started on February 17th, that's almost a month and a half ago. Still nothing is being done? Why? Michigan is not the only Abbott Plant that manufactures Similac Baby Formula in the United States. It's just the only one that was careless and victim of the bacterial recall. Albeit , due to their own negligence. These other Plants should be going full force, all hands on deck and manufacturing baby formula in a cleanly yet timely manner to get it back on the shelves for these poor babies before some of them starve.That may be melodramatic to some of you but that's reality. Do you think it will have no effect on a baby who has to have a bottle made with formula that doesn't cater to their sensitivities? But what is a Mother, Father, Parent, Aunt, Uncle, Grandmother, Grandfather, Caretaker, etc supposed to do when that's their only choice for feeding their baby!?

Image obtained via Google Image search, "Babies drinking from bottles."

This is a huge issue right now! A crisis that's not being discussed! It's been swept under the rug as if manufacturers , retailers, even news casters think if we don't talk about this it's just going to go away and everyone will forget. An "Out of Sight Out of Mind" sort of thing. But that is not the case at all. We as a whole in parenthood are struggling here. If you're not a parent or not a parent of a baby or a child who takes baby formula, I challenge you to just take a quick 2-second detour of your route the next time you're at the grocery store. Walk through that baby section and go to the baby food , baby formula aisles and look. Look closely at what I'm talking about. See all that empty space. This is not because everyone came and bought formula that day, this is not empty space that's going to be restocked that night available for purchase the next day. No, each empty space you see is representative of a baby that doesn't get to eat! This needs to be taken more seriously. This is an emergency and it needs to be taken care of NOW!

humanity

About the Creator

Crystal McGraw

I'm always speaking my mind, When I'm better off biting my tongue

I'm a bad joke at the wrong time .Hell,I'm a legend in my own mind

I'm good for some but I'm not for everyone~Brother's Osbourne.

I'm here to write stories& tell my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Crystal McGrawWritten by Crystal McGraw

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.