Families logo

Talking With: Angie Jaymes from New Peacock Competition Show ‘Create the Escape’

Interview with educator Angie Jaymes, who shines as the ultimate Host helping kids to create parent-proof escape rooms.

By FierceScribePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Angie Jaymes from 'Create the Escape' (Photos by: Marcus Ingram/Peacock)

This edition of Talking With focuses on Angie Jaymes, a dedicated educator who steps into the role of Host on the Peacock networks newest kids DIY competition series, Create the Escape.

This madcap family adventure has a big focus on STEM, and Angie pumps up the excitement and guides each contestant through the entire creative the process as the Host. First, they start with a concept, allowing kids the chance to imagine wildly challenging escape rooms to trap their families. Then, the show’s talented crew builds these intricate rooms, which leads to the final challenge as each contestants' parents attempts to escape before time runs out.

Angie proves the perfect host for the show, bringing with her an extensive background in child development. This Portland, Oregon native has years of experience as a teacher, camp director, education consultant, school librarian, childcare provider, science workshop instructor, performing arts coordinator, and student mentor.

Now, Create the Escape is providing Angie a new platform to further build relationships with kids, teach them principles of critical thinking and imaginative play, and help them develop communication and hands-on skills.

To learn more, we are Talking With Angie Jaymes about Create The Escape.

What can you tell us about Create the Escape?

ANGIE JAYMES: Create the Escape (CTE) is a DIY show where kids team up with design professionals to create, build, and test their very own escape rooms. The best part? It's their own family who gets thrown inside and must escape before time runs out. It's crafty, clever, competitive, and parents say the darndest things when confined in small spaces! I haven't seen anything like it on TV which makes the show exciting to be a part of.

Why did you want to be part of this family competition show?

AJ: My two great loves have always been kids and performance, but up until landing CTE, those passions (and careers) have existed largely separate from each other. However, I worked for years as a nanny and came to really cherish the relationships I made with those families. Being the host of a kids show feels like another way I can bring families together.

Do you think your background in education helps your hosting role on the show?

AJ: Absolutely. Being an educator is as much about knowing how to build relationships with kids as it is about delivering curriculum. I often didn’t get a chance to meet our kids until we were just about to walk on set to shoot our first scene. Knowing how to find a quick “in” with kids as well as asking the right questions to get them pumped about coming on a wild escape room adventure was really critical for me to do as the host.

What has been your favorite moment from working on it?

AJ: Ooo, that’s difficult to pick! But I will say there were a few standout kiddos who were a dream to work with. Smart, fun, FUNNY, and totally down to dive in and be goofballs with the design experts and myself. They made my job feel pretty easy. Those weeks I just felt along for the ride.

If you had to pick the “best” room this season, which would it be and why?

AJ: Ha! We had two equally talented art departments working on this show to make each room as amazing as it was, but if I had to pick I’d have to say the funhouse. Keep in mind that every room was constructed start-to-finish within five days which makes each room a mini design wonder, but the funhouse in particular felt pretty magical. It was like walking inside a rainbow fever dream.

Why is this show important for audiences right now?

AJ: For young people watching Create the Escape, I think it's a show that empowers kids to think big and gets them excited about working hard to turn their ideas into realities. But I also think CTE is an excellent reminder for older family members that it's important to indulge in the awesome power of play. These last couple years have really amplified the importance of taking care of ourselves and nurturing connections with the people closest to us. I love a show that encourages families to spend quality time together.

Had you ever participated in an escape room prior to landing on the show? And, did you get out in time?

AJ: Back in 2019 when we shot the pilot, escape rooms were becoming more popular but the only ones I heard about were panic rooms or ones that promised to lock you inside and scare the snot out of you for an hour. Literally my worst nightmare. But! When I landed the gig I was given a homework assignment to do one before shooting. I found one that was Egyptian tomb themed. Sadly my team did NOT escape -- too much adrenaline clouding our reasoning skills I think -- but it was a total blast.

Angie Jaymes (photo by: Ginger Sole)

What inspires you the most creatively?

AJ: I will say that being around kids instantly puts me in a more compassionate brain space which usually means I’m less judgmental about the things I create. I'm easily my own worst enemy in that regard. On my own, I’ve always found a lot of creative inspiration through movement. Sometimes movement means dancing to explore an emotional situation until it becomes clear to me, or sometimes movement means I walk away from something and wash the dishes until the right words float in. Whatever works!

Keep up with Angie Jaymes at www.angelajaymes.com or on Instagram: @angela.jaymes

Watch Create the Escape on PeacockTV.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.