Families logo

Tag your IT

Step in a true story series taking you back in time as an adult in the mind of a 6yr old.

By Coy maxwellPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Based on a true story about me around the time when I was at the age of 6 years old.

Story setting: Kindergarten Recess

"KISTON!"

I Yell at the top of my lungs from across the playground, not seeming to find him I yell again.

"KISTON!"

I glance across the playground, his blonde hair is sticking out from behind the metal pole. I sneak up behind him and say,

"Why hello afraid child."

He turns around and runs but my gym time had payed off and I was able to catch up finding myself close behind him. Unexpectedly he makes a sharp turn but slows down giving me the perfect opportunity to tag him. I then scream,

"KISTONS IT!"

"Are you sure? Ethan says.

In response I said, "Ummmmmm YEA!" In complete excitement if you could imagine at that age playing tag.

"Coy run!" Jenifer says.

I look in the direction of Kiston and see him running my way. I grab ahold of the monkey bars and swing up getting on top of them. Kiston not being able to get up leaves me alone. Jocelyn seeing that I found a spot where the odds of us being “it” were slim to none, she jumps up here as well.

In a sigh of relief Jocelyn turns to me and says "I think we are safe up here"

"I know, I’m clever aren’t I?" I said in response.

Jocelyn is the 6th youngest in our class and sometimes has a big head thinking she is the coolest in every room she enters. She also can be a bit bossy and a know it all if I’m completely honest. Maybe I shouldn’t have but I told her the youngest is the weakest, and with no surprise as you can imagine how saying something of that sort to a girl. It didn’t go over very well.

"Tag is the most competitive game in our class, and your not taking it seriously!" Jocelyn said.

“How am I not taking it seriously? Aren’t I the one who helped you get away?” I said rolling my eyes.

"Wait guys I have a plan!" Jordan said.

Jordan proceeded to climb over to me and whispered his plan to me not wanting anyone else to hear. I have to admit even though he is my friend, it wasn't the best plan but it was worth a try I guess.

"Ethan, BOLT!" I yelled from above.

Ethan being the fastest kid in the class was a very good trait to have in tag, obviously. We made a code name called "Bolt." that means to distract the tagger, if everyone is together.

"Jenifer, do what you do what you do best! Cover your ears!" Jordan yelled.

"And coy does what he does best." Allie said.

Since i'm the smartest in the class I can tell them how fast to go and how loud you yell.

"Jenifer make your yell very high pitch." I said.

"Yes sir." Jenifer responded

"Ethan run as fast as you can in front of Kiston, and don't get tagged” I yelled.

“Gotchaaa!!!." Ethan said.

"Everyone else" Jordan said.

"Scatter!" Finishing his sentence for him.

"You really hate me don't you." Kiston said.

"No we love you! Well some of the girls here do anyway." Jenifer said.

"Are you referring to something Jenifer? Something you want to tell us?" Allie said teasing her.

"Ah, um no i'm just saying." Jenifer said.

"Right right." I said with a smirk on my face.

Kiston still running towards the playground ignoring Ethan, Jenifer starts her very high pitch yell, Kiston yanks back and ends up falling, but last second he tags Ethan while on the floor.

Everyone looked shocked, he glared at me, and said.

"As much as its your fault that i'm it, your not what I have in mind." He says being a soar game player

He then proceeds to looks at Jenifer and she then yells back at him,

"You'll have to find me first!" jumping off the playground wall.

"Shes dead meat." Allie said.

“I agree." Jocelyn responded.

Jenifer is good at hiding, that's why we are playing Tag instead of hide and go seek because we all would lose and we know it. She is also good at juking people making them believe she is about to run in one direction but will swiftly and quickly running in the opposite.

But the didn't do that at all, she looked at the sidewalk, then over at the benches, and started running in that direction like everyone else was; Is this what everyone was planning? To get Jenifer tagged? She gets tagged enough, so why does it seem she is the class target in this game? Everyone was running towards Ethan. Not the best idea considering he is it. what was happening? i started to think. I looked around where everyone was running trying to figure out the plan of action but then from a distance i heard,

"Time for lunch! Everyone line up" our teacher shouted.

"Last one there is it!" Ethan yelled.

I ran a fast as I could go. I was 6th in line, but many more people are in my class so I was not it. Either way the last person is never it honestly because usually the next time we play they dont hold up to there end of the bargin.

I am always late to recess because of my "Late" homework. I tried to do it as soon as i got home, but well we can just say TV gets the best of me. I looked at my friend Ethan to see how far up he was, but he was not in line.

"AHHHHHH!!!!!!"

suddenly a scream coming from the other side of the playground.

To Be Continued....

children
Like

About the Creator

Coy maxwell

Child of God

TikTok @enderboycoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.