Families logo

Superpowers

My Experience On The Subject Of Enlightenment PT.2

By Sylver BoswellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's very hard for me to tell this story in a way that others can understand. I just hope it's all much clearer written down.

Pt.2

Think about something for just a moment...if you could do something VERY out of the ordinary wouldn't you want to tell at least one person about it? Well I guess that's what I am trying to do, but in my experience it usually doesn't resonate with the listener.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

After I went to live with my dad and stepmom it was extremely rare that I would get to see or talk to my mom. My stepmom had convinced my dad that my mother was a bad influence and the less contact we had with her the better. My mom would try to call us and they would let it go to voicemail. She would write us letters and my dad and stepmom would hide them before we even got a chance to see them.

By Ioana Cristiana on Unsplash

Sometime after my sleepwalking started there were instances when I would (being totally awake) feel a short burst of "feeling" like a shiver and the veins in my hands would start to show. I soon found that every time this "feeling" showed up there would be a new message on the answering machine from my mom. One time I showed my sister my hand and then told her to check the machine and sure enough, a new message from my mom. To this very day my sister says it freaks her out that I was able to do this.

This is Me (bottom middle) and all seven of my siblings

All of that wierd stuff aside, I just want the reader to know that I had (in my personal opinion) a very rough childhood. I grew up with 6 siblings who constantly bullied me and a stepmom that wasn't much better. My dad had a temper so bad that he would get out of control. His face would turn purple and he would take the nearest thing he could find (yardstick, belt, spoon, etc.) and just (what's a good way to put it?) tan our backside (I kinda chuckled writing that but it's the only way I could gently get it out of my system). In other words beatings were regular. I could actually continue with a list of everything bad, but I don't think that would get my point across very well. I guess what I am trying to say is that all the not-so-great things that happened to me back then were actually waking up that part of my brain that was making all that wierd stuff happen (I will explain it in greater detail later).

To give you a better idea of what it was like for me I would just like to say that one of the main reasons I view my childhood as rough was that I grew up in an extremely religious setting. Church services every Sunday (morning and evening) and Wednesday (evening) and church school every weekday from 7am to 4pm. That's right, I was in church every day of the week. I couldn't dress how I wanted to, I couldn't talk how I wanted to, and I couldn't even THINK how I wanted to. However, I never once doubted God was real. It just took me a while to realize my anger toward God was misplaced.

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

That's part two....stay tuned.

~Sylver~

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sylver Boswell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.