Families logo

Strength And Courage

All Because Of You

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Always Caring For Others

Addressed To Heaven

To: My Dearest Sweet Mom

Everyday I wake ,I miss you more than the day you said, “always in my heart”.

Mom, I thank you for being such a talented, loving woman ,you were to me and many others.

A beautiful fashion designer from wedding gowns, going away outfits but most of all the clothes you made for my sisters and I.

I sit here always wondering, how did you ever do everything you did? How did you keep our home so tidy, bake homemade cakes, cookies and still have so much time. (also worked full time)

Family time to you, often meant a wonderful meal , sitting around the table. Often a card game, building a puzzle or going for a car ride.

So many wonderful trips to the cottage. Organizing everything, from our clothes packed, meals organized for the week and there wasn’t one detail you missed. (Always so much fun)

From being a nurses aid, a wonderful loving wife to dad, the best mom I could ever ask for. How can I ever tell you how proud I am of you, how blessed I was to have you as my mom, my best friend but most of all the one who shines the light for my path to take in life.

Both you and dad showed us the true meaning of love. How you danced in the living room, greeted each other with a kiss. Most of all you took time to sit and talk about your days. You taught us all how communication is best in every relationship.

From being a coach with dad in hockey, to a backyard full of children from everywhere. There wasn’t anything you wouldn’t do for your family or others.

I remember you cooking meals, taking clothes to families that were going through rough times.

Now Christmas was the best. Your fruitcake, watching you making it or getting a chance to stir. Than your buttery shortbreads, they melted in my mouth. I keep trying to make the cookies but your granddaughter, you would be proud. Much like you she makes it deliciously.

I know all of the woman in our family , still to this day looked up to you, your bravery, your heart of gold and determination and hope to be much like you.

You always loved learning new things, I can see you to this day researching things in different books. (I guess mom,I learned that from you)

Travel and adventure from Florida, the Grand Old Oprah and all the wonderful places from hockey with dad and the team.

I never realized until you were told you had cancer (stage four), possibly only a short time to live. How strong and determined you were. You said you had Cancer, you were not Cancer. You were mom , and you were going to live life to the fullest.

That you did, the cancer in fact disappeared. The doctors were shocked and checked twice to make sure. I am so very proud of you.

You had ten years with dad and your family, seeing new babies arrive in the family, celebrating many wonderful special occasions. Always smiling and living life to the fullest. Making crochet clowns for every new baby, you always said you wanted to see the children smile.

Mom, everyone of your daughters including me, are all creative, smart and strong. For that we are grateful and hope to carry that quality onto our daughters for generations to come.

To be independent, but to lean on others when we need to.

To make goals, do our best to reach them

To never take a day for granted and do one special thing for yourself. Today mom I get this opportunity to thank you, to tell you how proud I am of you. The hopes of only being half the woman you were, to carry on all you have taught me and showed me.

The days leading up to your journey home, I was honoured to care for you, to chat and hear you talked to dad.

I never said good by mom, it’s until we meet again. In my heart, my daily tasks you are always with me. I also kept my promise to you, I write every day. I know you loved my writing and my goal and I will succeed.

Thank you for the memories, the gift of life.

Love forever

Cathy

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.