Families logo

Songs for Halloween

Some songs I played for children in child care in the month of October.

By Tanika StimpsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Songs for Halloween
Photo by Ekaterina Kuznetsova on Unsplash

Whilst I was working in child care as an Early Childhood Education I would play different songs to match each month or holiday for example, for Easter, I would play any Easter or bunny songs. Around the month of December, I would play all kinds of Santa music, including Australian Santa Carols. So in October, I like to encourage the children to help decorate the classrooms up while playing some music that will go with the month. So as an educator, I want the children to still learn through this so I had the children do some painting to make their own decorations to make the classroom look spooky whilst we are learning wer also play songs that are appropriate for children to listen to, such as ones that can be educational. This includes songs that have mathematics and numeracy in it but I do also play ones that are fun for the children to use their imagination skills and pretend to be things like a witch, skeleton, warewolf, monster or a zombie. When I played these kinds of songs in the past children would dance, run around, and pretend to be scared like in the songs and then laugh, they would then ask for me to play the song again.

This song is called It’s a Halloween night, this song goes through skeletons, ghosts, zombies, monsters, a witch and a vampire. The children would all pretend to be scared and run around the room then they would all laugh and ask to play it again.

Then this link 🔗 is a mixture of songs 30minutes kids can dance too like which includes monster mash. During these songs we would play games like musical statues. We would then go through our dress ups and see what we all could become. During this month at home my son Jaxon wanted to dress me up and do my face painting he had painted me in grey, green, red and black. My son then said he made me look like a monster. I allow my son to make me look like a monster and make me look scary.

When it came to the song I put a spell on you they would find anything around the room or outside like a stick the children would then pretend it was a wand and then they would pretend they can use magic to make people disappear.

The children would use these songs to have their own Halloween party in the classroom and help decorate the room by placing plastic spiders 🕷️ all over the room to the point they all scared 😱 one of the teachers who is terrified of spiders when we saw her run out of the room in a fright the children had a good laugh at this educator.

Hope you enjoy all the songs.

Some the songs the children enjoyed dancing to are: Ghost busters, Monster mash, It’s a Halloween Night, This is Halloween (from the movie Night before Christmas), Chillin like a Villain (from the movie the Descendants), Rotten to the Core (from the movie the Descendants), The Adams Family song and more I would put some lights around the room in the shapes of ghosts and they all had fun with painting, taking photos while telling each other what we are dressed up as. The children would then dress me up by placing fake spider webs all over me.

At home after my son dressed me up and placed paint all over my face, Jaxon would then dress up as a doctor and and asked me to dress up to. We then used our Smart lights to change from white to all kinds of colours with the phone playing the songs and with the phone listening to the music that way the lights can change colours.

We also love listening to Disney Halloween song mix, because not only is it appropriate for children but the children love recognizing some of the songs from movies and or recognizing the disney characters.

children
1

About the Creator

Tanika Stimpson

My name is Tanika im a single mum to a beautiful boy. My blogs are about mine and my son’s life. My son and I are currently doing this while fundraising for JDRF by doing the JDRF One Walk.

We will be sharing updates on my son’s service dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.