Families logo

Solo Mom Triumphs.

Navigating the Rollercoaster of Parenthood

By Elizabeth wambuiPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
Like
 Solo Mom Triumphs.
Photo by Thiago Cerqueira on Unsplash

Life as a single mom – where do I even begin? It's like being handed a VIP pass to the wildest rollercoaster ride of your life, with no instructions and a guarantee of both thrills and spills. Strap in, because this is a story of love, laughter, tears, and everything in between.

The journey began with a tiny plus sign on a pregnancy test, a moment that filled me with equal parts excitement and terror. Becoming a mom was something I had always dreamed of, but the prospect of doing it alone was daunting, to say the least. Would I be enough for my child? Could I handle the challenges that lay ahead? But as soon as I held my baby in my arms for the first time, all those doubts faded into the background, replaced by an overwhelming rush of love and determination.

The early days were a blur of sleepless nights, dirty diapers, and endless feedings. I stumbled through each day in a haze of exhaustion, fueled by caffeine and sheer willpower. But amidst the chaos, there were moments of pure magic – like the way my baby would gaze up at me with wide-eyed wonder, as if I held the whole world in my arms.

As my child grew, so did the challenges. Balancing work, childcare, and household responsibilities became a juggling act worthy of the circus. There were days when I felt like I was barely keeping my head above water, drowning in a sea of to-do lists and deadlines. But through it all, I learned to be resilient and resourceful, finding strength in the face of adversity.

Of course, there were times when I felt like I was failing miserably. Like when I missed my child's school play because of a work commitment, or when I couldn't afford to buy them the latest toy or gadget. The guilt weighed heavy on my heart, a constant reminder of my shortcomings as a parent. But then there were the moments that made it all worthwhile – the pride in my child's eyes when they accomplished something new, the warmth of their hugs after a long day, the simple joy of spending quality time together, just the two of us against the world.

And then there were the not-so-glamorous moments of single mom life. Like the time my toddler decided that nap time was for losers and proceeded to redecorate their room with a tub of diaper cream. Or the time I tried to cook a gourmet meal and ended up setting off the smoke alarm – turns out, my culinary skills leave much to be desired.

But amidst the chaos and mishaps, there were also moments of profound love and connection. Like the way my child wraps their arms around me in a bear hug, their laughter echoing through the house like a symphony of joy. Or the way they look up at me with eyes full of trust and adoration, reminding me that I am their world, no matter how many mistakes I make along the way.

And then there are the judgments from society, because apparently, being a single mom means you're fair game for everyone's opinions and assumptions. But you know what? I've learned to laugh in the face of their ignorance, to shrug off their judgments like water off a duck's back. Because at the end of the day, I know that I am doing the best I can for myself and my child, and that's all that matters.

So here's to the wild ride of solo momhood – the tears, the laughter, and everything in between. It may not always be easy, but it's definitely one hell of an adventure. And I wouldn't trade it for the world.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth wambui

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.