Families logo

Skin No Darker Than a Brown Paper Bag

By Kami Bryant

By Kami BryantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6

Skin No Darker Than a Brown Paper Bag

By Kami Bryant

My mother was a blonde and blue-eyed Caucasian and my father is a black man. That heritage classifies me as mixed or mulatto. My heritage also qualifies me as neither white nor black but both. It also makes it so I don’t quite fit in to one racial box. I typically either mark both boxes white and black or sometimes two or more races. I used to mark the ‘Other’ category when questioned about my race.

At a previous job, management decided to split up the employees by race so that the group could discuss in the meeting/training what it meant to them to be white or to be black. I was upset because was I supposed to go to the black group? My friend and co-worker is white. I wanted to go to her group and be with her in her training. But no, I am a person of color, not white. I don’t belong in the white group with my friend. I went to the black group. I didn’t really belong there either. I wasn’t raised in the community that my co-workers described. I was told that I could go to both groups. That didn’t sound quite right either.

I didn’t know that I was different or ‘Other’, growing up until someone told me. I was eight years old when a kid at school asked me, “What are you?” I didn’t understand the question. “What am I?” I am a person. I am a human being. I am a girl. “No,” I remember him saying, “Where are you from?” I was born and raised in the Los Angeles area, but when I was eight years old, my mother moved us to a town of 600 people in southern Illinois. It was there that I was asked, “What are you?” I told the boy that I was from Los Angeles, California. “Oh,” said the boy. “That tan will go away. When I got back from Mexico, I was so dark.” My tan will go away? That is something that needs to happen for me to be accepted? He said it as if he was solving a problem that I didn’t know I had. I was very confused by the interaction.

I was raised by my blonde, blue-eyed mother. My father wasn’t around growing up and I wasn’t raised in the black community. I didn’t understand racism, since I was never exposed to it until that day at the school in Southern Illinois. I didn’t know why my cousins were trying to tie two twigs together to create a cross to set fire to on my lawn. My mother had never exposed me to hate. I didn’t know what a burning cross on someone’s lawn meant.

My mother would later tell me about a time when I was a toddler playing at a park playground and one of the other mothers asked her, “How long have you had her?” My mother was like, “What do you mean? I am her mother. I gave birth to her. What do you mean how long have I had her?” People assumed that I was adopted, because my skin color and my mother’s didn’t match.

I would learn later that I didn’t quite fit in to the black community because I was raised white. But I was obviously not white. I had never heard the term mulatto, until I was in my twenties. I didn’t know that mulatto was historically used as a slur meaning “half breed.”

I learned about the Brown Paper Bag test when watching a comedian present a story for Black History Month. A black person could work in a club in 1940 as long as their skin was no darker than a brown paper bag. I tried the test myself and my skin tone matches the brown paper bag. Does that mean that I am not too black? Or does it mean that I am not black enough? Will I ever be accepted as who I am? Or shall I always be ‘Other’?

I am light skinned. I am high yellow. I am half breed. I am mulatto. I am BIPOC. I am blackish. I am other. And that is who I will always be. That boy at school was wrong, my tan didn’t go away. This is the skin that I was born in. This is who I am. And who I will always be, the same color as a brown paper bag.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Kami Bryant

I am a single mother of a teen boy. I work at a hospital and like to write stories in my free time. I self published a novel on Amazon. I am working on some short stories that I am going to publish as an anthology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.