Families logo

Short story compilation

The dangers of waves edition

By Mahonry FrancoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Short story compilation
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Look at that picture... ...what do you see? I straight up see death!

Haha okay, I may be a little bit overdramatic. The picture is actually pretty nice. I love the beauty of the earth and the perfect camera shot of this wave, it's satisfying and majestic. Have you ever ridden one? It's really fun! The breeze of the wind feels liberating as it pushes you back while the wave is moving you forward. I don't want to bag on something so serene. But I do want to raise a concern by sharing 3 stories that will help me convey a gentle warning for anybody planning to go to the beach.

Story #1

On a scorching summer day underneath the dinosaur-shaped clouds, there was a family blissfully enjoying the luxury of the warm sand on their feet and backs accompanied by the peaceful sound of water brushing up the shore. Dad did not need to worry about work, Mom did not need to worry about the kids, and the kids did not worry about anything. Nothing but solemn solace all around; a "perfect day" if you will. At least it was until - SPLASH!!! The family was blindsided by a massive wave! Mom and Dad rushed to take immediate family inventory and found it was impossible because one of the family members was not attending the meeting. Where did the baby go? He couldn't have outrun the wave, there's no way! Alarm rose from 0 to 100 insanely quick. No one wanted to accept the fact that the baby had been swallowed by the ocean! Paralyzed and shockingly pale all the family could do was pray. Not long after a second wave hit, this one calmer than the last. As the water gently flowed back it revealed the missing baby; face and belly to the ground stretched out like a starfish, there was no movement just silence. Fear conquered the family especially the mother but relief conquered fear when the baby lifted his head and laughed.

Story #2

A group of high school boys earned a decent amount of cash and did what any other group of high school boys would do - spend it all. They drove to the nearest beach and made unforgettable high school memories living young, wild, and free. The boys were waist-deep in the water and suddenly they were all washed away by a wave with a power they underestimated. All were okay except for one. The wave had broken his collarbone. Obviously, the smart thing to do was to take him to the hospital, and the boys did. The other smart thing to do was to let him rest, and the boys didn't, instead, they took poor collarbone boy to a rollercoaster park and had him ride a ride. After all, money had to be spent.

Story#3

Have you ever heard a cow choking on grass? Lol me neither. I think the closest thing to that was a personal experience I had when I was almost killed by a wave I didn't see coming. The moment I turned around I received a huge smack to the face that plundered me under. It was gross I swallowed salty fish water. Below the surface, I was desperately waving my hands everywhere wanting to reach the top. I swear my legs were kicking harder than Cristiano Ronaldo or Conor McGregor. Eventually, I did reach the top but with water down my throat and up my nose it was hard to breathe. It didn't help to be in a position where intense physical movement was required. I was making some weird noises! Luckily I made my way back on land and pretended nothing happened, in fact, I just tanned and went to sleep.

Hopefully, now that you have read these 3 different scenarios you can understand the dangers of waves. If I were you I would be cautious out there; don't get me wrong they are super fun! 10 out of 10 I would jump in again. Just be careful. The stories here are mild comparing to others but it doesn't make them any less true.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Mahonry Franco

Experience, learn, share, repeat. To me, Vocal is a journal to do exactly that.

Youtube Channel: Mahonry Franco

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.