Families logo

Setting the Mommy Standard

Motherhood Your Way

By M'chelle NicolePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Jellybean and I, after Halloween fun, going out to eat in Mickey PJs

I read an article while I was pregnant that said something to the effect of your baby shower sets the tone of the type of mom you'll be. Now, I didn't know if that was factual or not, but I've seen enough posts on social media that made motherhood look awful. I was not even having that. The only thing I wanted was not to lose myself in motherhood. I'm still me regardless.

Mostly, I kept that promise to myself. Is it easy? Of course not! Most days, I'm Wonder Woman. I wonder how I'm accomplishing multiple tasks and wearing multiple hats simultaneously. At the time (end of my 1st trimester), I wanted to show those close to me the type of mom I planned to be.

I decided to skip the baby shower and do a gender release party instead. I planned it simple yet extravagant - yes, I know it's an oxymoron. But, that's me... the walking oxymoron. Once I sent the invitations out, I received a ton of responses that people couldn't make it but still wanted to know. Therefore, I edited my plan and had two gender releases - one for attendees and one for out-of-state family (mostly my dad).

Pre-reveal Prep: I did everything on my own because I'm frugal like that. I took the day off to get everything needed for the party and reveal (I needed a whole day because my morning sickness was a beast, y'all), and then #ChefKocoa prepped all the food in the morning to cook the following morning. Once everything was prepped, I went to several stores on my list. Halfway through shopping, I killed off half of my plan because I was tired. Who'd know the difference anyway? FYI... The whole party cost me less than $100 (the cake pops were the priciest item; Dollar Tree is bae).

Once I got home after climbing three flights of stairs (my pre-mommy exercise), I dumped everything on the living room floor and took a nap (i.e. 9-hour nap #dontjudgeme). I knew waiting until the last minute would make me frantic, but it'd have to do. Saturday morning, I worked with what I had and planned to wing it for the rest (FYI... this is my motherhood style). As I was setting everything up, my first guest arrived and then another and another. Wow! Time flies when you aren't paying attention to the clock. I rushed (as fast as my preggo body would allow) to get dressed & ready, and rode back to the pool (my guests wouldn't let me walk back).

The First One: Y'all know how hot it gets in Texas summer, so I needed a quick option. Since I used a donor to conceive, I was the only one who knew Jellybean's sex. So, I decided to do cake pops as the reveal and Lulupops by Lina did an excellent job! I had everyone meet me by my pool and asked them to wear the color of their guess with white (you know, for aesthetics).

While we waited for everyone to show up, my photographers from Rhedeont Photography asked me to do a quick photo-shoot. That was unexpected but sure. I could use a moment of pampering and the pool grounds were beautiful. We got started as soon as my mom got there (last to arrive - CPT). My younger sister explained the rules then we counted down to the reveal. Big bite into the cake pop and SURPRISE!

The Second One: For my dad (and out-of-state family), I did a video of the balloon reveal. Now, here's when the party started. The whole thing was unscripted. I needed to have fun too. My mom is a hoot and a half, so I knew having her reaction on video would be entertaining; however, I was not ready for my reaction to the reveal.

All in all, the party was a blast. My friends, family and sorority sisters made revealing my Jellybean a treasured experience. I am forever grateful! As for setting the "mommy standard", I've learned to adapt. This mommy will do what works best for Jellybean... even if I'm deviating from the plan. Despite what some may say, there is not one blueprint for #mommyhood. In the end, you live with the choices you make, so choose happiness.

children
1

About the Creator

M'chelle Nicole

M'chelle Nicole, a novelist, is an inspirational conversationalist living in Dallas, TX. #Mompreneur #ntxhomecupid ​#TheSilentBeauty

Welcome to my memoirs on my experience as a deaf/HOH American. ​#deaftalent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.