Families logo

Sally Loves Tommy

Chapter 3

By T. K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Sally Loves Tommy
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The day of the wedding came with no word from Sally's family. Tommy and Sally were so excited that they didn't let that dampen their big day! Sally had bought and beautiful white dress and made a couple of alterations to make it her own. Tommy wore a dark blue suit and a smile that lit up the whole ceremony. He had bought Sally a beautiful bouquet of many different layers. He told Sally that it represented all of the reasons he loved her and how original that made their love and their wedding. She took one of the roses from the bouquet and pinned it on Tommy's lapel and told him that was only a small portion of the specialness of who he was to her. They walked down the aisles of the little country church and said their vows with the preacher of Tommy and Thomas' church, Brother Michael McAdoo & wife Matelda, and Thomas SR in attendance. It was a beautiful, loving and simple ceremony, just like the couple wanted. As they opened the church doors to leave, they were surprised to see Sally's family at the foot of the stairs. Sally ran down the stairs and hugged her brother and sister and then her father and stepmother. "Why didn't you come in and celebrate with us?" Sally asked.

Her father began, "I am very ashamed of myself and I didn't want to put any of my regret into your day. And I only this morning in my service was called to come here and make amends. Sure, it's been eating at me from my first prejudice against Tommy. I didn't even give him a chance! And when I found out who his father was, I made it 100 times worse with the way I treated Thomas. Over my pride and judgement and I had absolutely no right to do that!" He walked over to Thomas and stuck his hand out in friendship. Thomas took it and brought him in for a hug. "We are family now, Bert!" he said, "Nothing but hugs and complete communication from here on out! Agreed?" Bert agreed and hugged Thomas back. Tommy walked over with Sally and Gilbert took them both in his arms and said, "I am glad that you found a man who will love you and take care of you, Sally! And Tommy, I hope you can forgive me for my ignorance that night." Tommy answered, "We all over and past all of that. Nothing but the future for my beautiful bride and all of our loving family and friends! Let's go to the restaurant and celebrate! I believe Pops even got some bubbly to toast with!"

Sally's dad had gotten a limo to chauffeur the newlywed couple for the rest of the day. And everyone else loaded into their own cars and headed to the restaurant. Tommy asked the driver to take them on a scenic drive around the city so her could spend some alone time with his bride before going to the party. He then closed the partition and turned back to Sally and kissed her deeply. "Let's have our own toast to us and our future!" he said as he pulled out 2 champagne flutes and started to open the small bottle that was provided for that. Sally stopped him and said, "I will just be having sparkling water, please. Won't you join me? And save that bottle for the next riders?" Tommy looked at her and asked, "Are we not going to celebrate today?" "OH YES! We are celebrating two thing today though! We are married AND we are PREGNANT!" Sally threw her arms around Tommy and he almost dropped the bottle. He slowly put it back into the bar and he took Sally's face between his hands and looked deep into her eyes. "Are you sure? How did this happen? I thought we were going to finish college?" Sally was shocked that he didn't seem as excited as she was. "What do you mean, how did this happen? You KNOW how it happens!! Aren't you happy? We can finish college and start a family at the same time! MANY people have done it before and now that my dad is more supportive, I'm sure they will help too." Tommy was quiet for only a minute and said, "Of course, I am happy! There is nothing I want more than to have children with you and live a wonderful life together! I had just never imagined children already. I'm sorry for my reaction. I love you, Sally, and we are in life for the long haul! Good or bad and to weather whatever! Right?" "Abso-freakin'-lutely!" Sally squealed. They waited to toast the news with their family and just made out for the rest of the ride to make the most of the alone time. :-)

When they arrived at the party, everyone was holding a champagne glass, but no one had toasted anything. They handed Tommy and Sally their glasses as they walked in and Thomas yelled, "To Sally and Tommy, may they reign their future like the beautiful people that they are!" and everyone raised and clinked their glasses and toasted, except Sally. The room got real quiet and everyone was looking at her. Tommy took her glass and set it on the table. He raised his glass and said, "Our second toast is for even more beautiful news! We will be having a baby in about 9 months!" and he raised his glass along with all the others and toasted loud and proud and oh so happy. Thomas went and got a glass of sparkling water so that Sally wouldn't be left out of any more of the celebration. Tommy wrapped his arm around Sally, raised his glass and said, "And the biggest toast of all, belongs to my amazing wife and love of my life, who has our first baby growing inside of her today!" And as he kissed Sally everyone raised their glasses and toasted and then Sally and Tommy raised their glasses and toasted each other.

It was a most magical day! There was dancing and laughing and many memories made. Every table had a disposable camera and guests were told to take a picture of anything they thought was memorable. The band played great music and Sally danced with Pops and her father for a few dances and he was very supportive of everything and he told her that when they came home from the honeymoon, he would have a surprise for them, because he hadn't had time yet. Pops had gotten them a week stay at a beautiful hotel in Panama City, FL to enjoy their first week of married life and some extra spending money, so they could enjoy it in style and luxury. When the most wonderful night was over, Bert, paid the driver extra to take Tommy and Sally in style and luxury also. They were off to begin their future with love, happiness and growing family! :-)

L O V E

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

T. K. Wilson

I've always told my true event stories to friends, but decided to try my hand at writing fiction. Wish me luck and give me any support that you think I might deserve! Even if it is a read and subscribe to read more... THANK YOU :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.