Families logo

Rules of a teenage daughter!

What it's like living with a teenager!

By One Single DadPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Are you hiding in the closet right now with claws on the other side of the door scratching with the monster on the other side calling out daddy? Well sir, you have a teenage daughter that is coming into her prime and you have no idea how to deal with it. As you are sitting there in the dark with the baseball bat that you are supposed to be using for intruders, thinking back to when the Ex-wife was going through all of this and trying to remember what you did then? Well I am here to tell you that unfortunately you cannot run to the garage or shed to work on something because now you are the one that has to deal with it. There may be times where you don't have to worry about it and they are on their "monthly flow" issues while they are away at their mother's house, but there will be a time that you are going to draw the short straw and have to deal with that issue on the weekend that she is with you. Fear not my friend, I am here to help!

She is going through changes!

I remember back when my daughter first started going thru puberty and was having all of these issues, I would always call my mom and ask her, "what do I do?" Her response would be for me to deal with it and that I have to learn if I am going to be taking care of a teenage daughter. But remember as you are sitting there in the darkness that your daughter is going through changes and that she is going to need the reassurance that everything is going to be ok and that she doesn't have to go through this alone. Now depending on what stages your daughter is in, the change of life depends on if that is going to work or if the claws are just going to get longer!

Keep supplies handy!!

This is the most important step of it all and I cannot express this enough, KEEP SUPPLIES HANDY!! And yes I am referring to what you think I am referring to. PADS. None of us dads really want to think about it, let alone be caught dead in that dreadful isle of the local supermarket or drugstore but unfortunately we have to. That's why whenever I have to make a supply run, I always make sure to buy the store out! Or at least enough to last her until she is grown up!

Keep blankets around.

Trust me on this one, even on the hottest of days during the summer, she is gonna want to curl up in a ball under a nice blanket. so maybe turn down the A/C if you are worried about her getting too warm. That is one of the biggest things that makes them feel better. I don't know what it is about it, quite frankly it always makes me feel hotter when I see my daughter curled up into a blanket but it is something about the protection that helps them feel better.

Last but not least,

KEEP CHOCOLATE EVERYWHERE!!! There have been times that I have won the day by just throwing chocolate bars at my daughter and running away. Chocolate fixes everything. So keep a steady supply somewhere and when your daughter comes over while the devil horns are out, be sure to start handing out the supply and you better hope and pray that you don't run short! But seriously though, chocolate helps with the attitude that you are going to get and it might help keep the paint on the door that you are hiding behind!

All in all,

Just remember that it is a natural change that is happening and we have all gone through it, Just not as severe as the females go through but we have all done it. Just think about everything that has been said and you might be able to spend some time outside of the closet when the daughter is visiting.

advice
Like

About the Creator

One Single Dad

Just a single dad trying to make a difference for his kids one day at a time.

I want this page to be about many different things, from stories that I have written to different topics that are on my mind at the time to even just ramblings!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.