Families logo

Role model

The Mentor

By James Albert SnitgenPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Fallen life

As the sky rains fire, the old man turns to the boy. "when the last ball of fire hits theses grounds I will be gone" he said, "I have taught you much in your life and wish to teach you more".

The old man looks out the window telling the boy a story of the past. He had lived in a time where words where lessons, Time was space, and of a teacher that left him with a great responsibility. "it was a responsibility that was only bestowed up on me, when my teacher was passing away" He told the boy of the many difficult trials he went thought in his life. Of the mistakes and retries that he had done. Of the fights and disagreements they had.

He told the boy of how his teacher never seemed to give up on him no matter how bad he might have done things. "My teacher was tough on me, but he never once push me over the edge" the old man whispered. "But why would a teacher that is tough on you make you who you are today" asked the boy.

So the old man told the boy of a teacher and his student pulling the rope of life at both ends but yet coming together in the middle at the same time. He told of how he dislike his teacher to the brink of hate, but still looking up to him for who he was and what he has done.

The rain of fire starts to slow down and the light in the old mans eyes start to fade, as he reaches for the bed. "my boy understand me when I say this" he said, " What I have learned from my teacher I past on to you, in hope that some day you too will see the light".

The man lays down on the bed slowly breathing in and out as the rain slows even more. " Father I have learn so much from you and wish to learn more" the boy said. The man reaches out and holds the boys hand, " My time is coming to an end, there forth I bestow to you the final lesson my Teacher, my father bestowed to me" he gasped " I bestow the lesson of responsibility and Independence to you in hope that when your time comes you too will have learned its meaning".

With that the old man closes his eyes as the last of the rain hits the ground. " I will take this lesson and remember you forever my father" the boy whispers, " I am sorry I never said this before father, but I have always looked up to you and I will always love you". With that finally out and said the boy walks out the door and closes its.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.