Families logo

Respect

Or The Lack There Of

By Jasmine HarrisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Respect
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Dear Lucifer,

Why is it that you think that you deserve respect? Just because you are my elder does not automatically grant you my respect. My respect is earned not freely given. If you respect me I will respect you. You want to come into my home screaming and yelling, then don't expect me to show you any kind of respect. We are full-grown adults, not children. We should be perfectly capable of speaking like it. Since you can't seem to grasp that concept then, just don't come around me. As a matter of fact, just don't speak to me anymore. I will always give the same amount of respect to you that I am given. Don't think for a second that my silence means that I won't fight back. I just don't see you as worth my time and energy. I refuse to let you have that power over me. I will match your energy. You have this mentality that you're better than everyone else. You need to take a closer look in the mirror. I know you like to think your shit don't stink. Sorry to burst your bubble, but all shit smells like shit. And you happen to reek of bullshit. You can talk all you want but your actions don't back you up. You're no better than the rest of us. Maybe you should humble yourself and remember where you came from. Have you forgotten your beginnings? Have you lost your way or something? Just as easily as you got to where you are, you can fall back down the ladder. I don't know who told you that you were special. I do know that they lied. You have no skills. You have no talent. Just look at your life. You couldn't make any of your dreams happen. And now you're living a sad, miserable life. A life that you hate might I add. The fact that you think you can come into my home and treat me badly is laughable. How fucking dare you? I am not a child and you will not treat me like one. I refuse to let you believe otherwise. This is my home, not yours. You do not get to come in here acting like it is. You don't need to be here. No one wants you here. No one has a problem with you leaving and not coming back. In fact, we happily welcome it. I have no problem cutting toxic people out of my life. It doesn't stop at family. Just because we're family doesn't mean that I won't hesitate to burn that bridge. I will cut off every form of communication. You chose to disrespect me and now you have to face the consequences. You reap what you sow. You have overstepped boundaries and crossed too many lines. I refuse to put up with this kind of behavior. You hold no value in my life. I don't value your opinion and I don't value you. You hold no worth in my life. I didn't need you then and don't need you now. If you think otherwise then you're a fool. So instead of playing the victim again why don't you acknowledge your shortcomings? Admit that you're wrong for once in your life. Be an adult and take responsibility for your shit. Instead of trying to make everyone else in your life look like the villain. The damage has been done. The bridges have been burned. There is nothing you can do that can repair what little relationship we had. And I'm completely ok with that.

Yours Truly,

Zenobia

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.