Families logo

Raising a Child with Autism

What things I've learned with Raising my son with Autism

By Toni BearPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Cain holding Gaby

Hello my loving readers. With Mothers day just going by, I want to share a story that occurred yesterday while I was seeing Cain (not his real name. For protecting purposes). First I would like to start off by saying happy late mothers day to all the mothers and guardians that are reading this. I hope you had a wonderful day on Sunday.

Cain

My son Cain, is going to be 9 this September. He was diagnosed with Autism a few years back. Me and my aunt have been working together to study what we can and learn tools of how to defuse Cain when he gets over stimulated and acts out with his words and hands. Yesterday I went over to my aunts for a visit and my Grandmother was there. I brought Kyle (my step son, again not his real name) and Gaby and Eric. Eric cooked dinner while Gaby, Cain and Kyle played with me in the living room. Cain started fighting with Kyle about his toys and my grandmother got upset and started yelling at Cain. Now anyone that is raising a child that is on the spectrum knows 98% of children with Autism do not react well with yelling or loud sounds. Cain yelled back and started getting violent. He ran and hid behind the couch. I asked my grandmother to take Gaby and calmly asked Cain to come into the kitchen with me.

me and Cain

Cain and Kyle in the background.

When we went in the kitchen Eric heard everything and decided to serve Cain his dinner first. I looked at Cain while he was trying to defend himself of why he acted out and simply asked him "Tell me something you love." He was caught off guard and said "well dinosaurs mommy you know that." I said "Okay, I bet you a brownie after dinner that you can't list six dinosaurs right now." He stopped eating and started naming them. Once he got to the sixth one I asked him, "How do you feel?" "Better." He said. I said good and praised him for calming down and then asked him if we can now calmly talk about Grammy. I talked to Cain about what we could of done better to cope with the situation and asked him if he understands what he did was wrong. He walked up to Grammy and apologized and explained what he did was wrong.

Studies show that children on the spectrum normally finds something they like that have all different type of that thing, such as; dinosaurs, horses, penguins, Pok'emon, cakes, ect. If you can get them to recite different things of something they like by the time they get to six, they are to busy thinking of that then being angry. You then can calmly talk to them about their behavior and not worry about them bouncing back and lashing out. If you are able to defuse your child sooner then I was able to yesterday, the better. some children on the spectrum do not understand that hitting in that moment is wrong and they think at times they did nothing wrong.

I would however like to thank Netflix original Atypical (www.netflix.com) for the idea of naming things, but I did researched it after to see the effects of it.

me and Cain

I thank you for reading and if you would love to know more tips or hear more about Cains progress you can tip me. If you would like to comment or have questions you can follow me on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ToniBabeBear

I thank you all for your time and appreciation on my stories.

children
2

About the Creator

Toni Bear

Mother of 4 and happy to be married to the man of my dreams. if you like blogs or an occasional fiction story, check my page out. I hope I don't disappoint you. Tips and subscriptions are welcomed but not required. I love feedback!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.