Families logo

Puppy Love

How we accidentally got a new puppy

By Catherine MacKenziePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Puppy Love
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

My wife and I have been together for thirteen years. In that thirteen years, she is the one who is constantly telling me "do not bring that dog home..."

What do I always do despite this...

I bring the dog home...

Well...this time is was she who brought the dog home.

I come home from work and walk into my bedroom and notice there's a puppy on the bed. A little black puppy that's probably no more than three months old. At first I thought it was the little black puppy that we already had...until I took a closer look and realized that that wasn't at all the one we already have...

This was a little pit puppy. We didn't own a pit...until two days ago.

Me, being a sucker for strays, didn't miss a beat. "Where did she come from?"

My wife smiles all innocently..."Well..."

So apparently a couple of the neighborhood kids knocked on the door asking if one of our dogs had gotten loose, that there was a little puppy across the street that wandered up onto the porch.

Now, there are dogs at this house that constantly get out of the fence. My wife witnessed them (there's four) capture a little dog and play tug-o-war with each of its limbs...and they eat their own puppies...

I don't know why they don't fix those dogs, but that's something else altogether.

Anyway, so, M went and picked up the dog so she wouldn't get eaten or freeze to death...as it was about 30 degrees and the winds were rather high.

She told the kids that if they find someone looking for her, to send them our way. Posted a thing in the local FB lost and found pets page...

We're thinking that she was the last in a litter and someone dumped her after not being able to get rid of her...this side of town, the odds of someone picking up a pit puppy are high.

It makes me sick that anyone would just dump a puppy out in the cold. Or any animal...but as since we're talking about this little pup here...I said puppy...

She was just a cold, shivering little mass wrapped up in a blanket when I got home. I immediately began loving on her and her little tail started wagging, licking all happily. She's a rather chatty little thing...and she does something that I've never seen another dog do. She uses her feet like hands. I don't mean how dogs typically do...but she'll put something between the pads of her feet and compress her feet to hold it. It's rather interesting to watch. And she does it rather well.

But after two days there's been no word...no posts, no knocks...

She came in acting like a little queen. As a joke, when we were trying to think of names, I said "Queen Penelope" in reference to The Big Bang Theory (the show, y'all, not the scientific theory...just to clarify) when Penny got really into on-line gaming.

And it stuck. That's now her name. And she knows it.

She's a great dog, as pits tend to be. She's amazing with the kids, very patient and gentle...especially for a puppy. But I guess that's why pits were bread to be (originally) nanny dogs. Because they're amazing with kids.

And she is completely attached to M and I. She even sleeps between us, happy as can be.

Honestly, we could have done without an extra dog...but sometimes the universe gifts us with animals and people and such when we need them the most...even if we don't know it yet.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Catherine MacKenzie

I write about murders, and murderers. I write of thoughts, confusions, victories, defeats. Of love gained and love lost. Of life in all its multi-faceted glory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.