Families logo

POWER OF LOVE

Love catches us in a way we can never explain why

By BERATPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
DODO

Love catches us in ways that we cannot explain the reasons for. Sometimes, despite the habits of the person we love, or the cruelty of life, we want to be with them. My story is a love affair like this.

When we met, he was a boy struggling with alcohol and drug addiction, while also fighting cancer. The difficult period in the 19-year-old's life deeply affected me. I wanted to do my best to make his life easier and support him.

At first, we were just friends. However, over time, our feelings for each other began to change. We were part of a group, and I was always by his side. Our feelings for each other grew stronger, and we found love. Despite the difficulties in his life, he was happy with me.

However, his alcohol and drug use worried me. I knew that these habits would only worsen his health. So, I tried to convince him to give up these habits. Over time, thanks to his love for me, he started to reduce his addiction.

However, the fight against cancer continued. He had to go to the hospital frequently for cancer treatment, and I was by his side. He had a tough battle in his life, but we got through this difficult process even stronger by embracing each other.

One day, I proposed to him. He said he wanted to marry me too. However, due to his cancer diagnosis, doctors had told us that his life expectancy was short. This situation made us even more connected. We realized how short life can be, and our love for each other grew stronger every day.

Shortly after, his health deteriorated even further. After spending a few weeks in the hospital, doctors said he needed to go home. I also went home with him and continued to take care of him. He had become bedridden, but I was always by his side.One night, she told me how lucky I was to be by her side. We both knew that every moment spent together was precious. That night, I proposed to her again and she accepted. Later on, we got married in a simple ceremony. She continued to fight against cancer, but I was always there for her.

A few months later, the doctors told us that she didn't have much time left. It was one of the hardest moments of my life. I tried to remember every moment we spent together and I was always by her side. In the last days we spent together, our love for each other grew even stronger.

Finally, her life came to an end. It was one of the most painful moments of my life, but I remained grateful for every moment I spent with her. Each moment we shared created memories that will last a lifetime for me.This love adventure has taught me many valuable lessons that will stay with me forever. I now understand the importance of living in the moment and cherishing every opportunity to express love and kindness towards others. I have learned that love is not just a feeling, but a choice we make every day to prioritize the happiness and well-being of those we care about.

Despite the pain of losing my loved one, I am grateful for the time we spent together and the memories we created. I will continue to honor their memory by living a life filled with love, compassion, and empathy towards others. This experience has also shown me the resilience of the human spirit and the power of love to heal and overcome even the most difficult of challenges.

In the end, I have realized that life is a precious gift, and it is up to us to make the most of every moment. Through the love and memories I have gained from this experience, I will continue to grow and evolve as a person, and carry the lessons I have learned with me throughout my life's journey.

valuesimmediate familyhumanityextended family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.