Families logo

Parenting While Being Present

In Five Simple Ways

By Topacio MarreroPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The way we choose to parent influences the manner in which the child perceives the world. For example, are you unconsciously telling your child the world is unsupportive vs. the universe has their back. One of the most effective ways to help deepen your connection with your children is by being present with our mind, body, and soul in that very moment. Being present heightens our sense of awareness and enables us to immerse ourselves in our child’s spirit.

Here are the five steps which helped me become more present with my daughter:

1. Focus on Your Blessings.

Instead of focusing on all the things that are not going right, think of all the abundance which surrounds you—like your family. When we focus on negative factors, we are not allowing ourselves to truly enjoy our children. Our thoughts are more powerful than we want to believe, for our thoughts create our reality. This is why I choose to focus on all the blessings in my life, no matter how small. Focusing on your blessings is a simple way of expressing gratitude. It helps us to produce positive vibrations in our life. In turn, you will be a happier person, and your children will pick up that energy.

2. Practice quieting your mind to release stress.

Recently, I have found an effective and immediate way to relieve my stress. Whenever I have feelings of anxiety, stress, and/or mental exhaustion, I close my eyes, take a deep breath and repeat to myself, “Peace Begins with Me.” I repeat this phrase over and over. I immediately start to feel a major relief as whatever I was allowing to stress me out fades away. I have practiced this countless times and it’s amazing how fast it works.

3. Household Chores Can Wait!

Do you ever feel like you do not have enough time in the day? Or you feel like all you have time for is house chores and cleaning. Well, guess what? House chores are not going anywhere, and they will wait for you! This one step took me a while to learn. Once I became a parent, I had to un-program myself. I had to learn how to let go and be OK with not having a permanently spotless and organized home. I will be honest, I LOVE it! I love spending more time with my daughter than doing chores.

4. Turn Off the Electronics/Television.

There is a reason they named it "television programming". Watching television and surfing the internet is addictive, time-consuming, and creates unhealthy habits. Children need and truly crave family time. Instead of sitting in front of the television or a screen with your children, take this time to interact with each other. By unplugging from all electronics it creates space for the family to learn about each other, and to love each other. Those are things that the internet nor television can teach your family!

5. Practice deep breathing with your children.

It’s not something that you have to force on them. My daughter for some years now has seen me take deep breaths whenever I start to feel anxious. When she was smaller, she would just observe me. As she got older, she began to do as I did. Now at eight years of age, she understands that taking deep breaths is a quick way to relax. Taking a deep breath also helps one focus and brings us back into the moment. Now its something that we do together, and it helped us develop an intentionally conscious connection.

These five steps helped me to create space for my daughter, therefore allowing us to develop a stronger and deeper connection with one another. Don’t be surprised if you discover something new not only within them but within you!

#motherhood #consciousparenting #blackmother #afrolatina #mama #mother

parents
Like

About the Creator

Topacio Marrero

Afro- Dominican + Mother + Writer + Researcher who Focuses on Mindfulness for Everyday Living and Identity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.