Families logo

OPERATION: HOPE, FAITH & LOVE

This is what the world needs now...

By BlackbirdPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
OPERATION: HOPE, FAITH & LOVE
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

It's been 30 years since the Great Fall Out. We always believed the end of humanity was going to be by man's own hand. His inability to get along with his neighbor perhaps some great war or his unwavering ability to create something to destroy one's self. The nations economies crashing all at once from besting the other. All possibilities, what occurred was far more worse. A global deterioration of its eco-system. We were always warned but so few listened and we all had a hand in it.

We were once known as the blue planet with its purple mountains, waves of grain, blue skies and oceans. Now all you can see, without protection, is red. The sun's rays burns your retinas the moment you remove your eyeshields. Everything appears red, what's left to be seen. When we failed to stop mass production of that what was making us sick our eco-system suffered. The wildlife, their habitats, and our way of life ceased to exist in the climate that we, ourselves created.

One by one, they all disappeared, the ice caps melted, the oceans dried up, vegetation for the masses shriveled and the quality of the air diminished. One without the other could not survived. So food became scarce, live stock started to die off and the only thing that keeps us alive now is what we are able to grow and produce without them. Those that know how have been spared what came after.

Since the Great Fall Out, we have been living in smaller communities under individual Domes. They protect us from the sun's rays and the unbreathable air. I, myself have never seen these things the elders speak of. I often find myself imagining the sites that my grandmother tells stories of when she was so very young. It's all gone now, she says, as she tries to draw what clouds were and something she describes as snow and snowmen. They sound so foreign to me but I see her face light up as she describes them to me. What a time that must have been, to have so much freedom to go where you want when you wanted and to have what you want when you wanted. I could only image these things now.

Unfortunately, we were not able to save everyone and we become fewer and fewer by the day. The elders have told us that without certain plants and medicines that derive from these plants, we may not survive much longer, which leaves us with little hope. I tell my family not to worry for something deep inside of me tells me different, which my mother calls a belief in something without understanding; faith. She then hugs me so tight that I can not breathe and when I squeal she releases me. As uncomfortable those hugs are, I know she loves me.

My average day consists of me going for a five mile walk around the parameter of our Dome; population 400. Some structures still exist from back then, with some preservation. The only ones allowed to travel between the Domes are the Pontificates chosen by their status prior to the Great Fall Out. No one really knows why but no one disputes it. It was on my many walks when I observed one of the Pontificates overseeing a dig at a former City Hall. He was very polished and his clothing reflected the light to a point of almost blinding anyone staring too long. The workers had pulled a metal box from the corner of the structure. For a brief moment they had all turned to see me staring back at them before they turned and left the area.

It was peculiar to say the least and I could not stop thinking about them. A few days had past when an announcement for everyone to attend this great unveiling of something that was going to save us all. It was the only thing anyone would talk about for weeks. Then came the day of the great unveiling, which had to be a big deal for it was televised between the Domes. The polished Pontificate along with six others stood on a small stage and with them was the box I had observed them pulled from the structure.

Silence fell over the crowd as he began to speak which went on for quite some time. The moment had arrived for the opening of the mysterious box. I could feel needles running up my spine in anticipation. I do not know why. Just the thought of what could be in a box that size that could save us all had me on edge. Out of the box they pulled a note along with several plastic pouches and a golden locket. It turned out to be a time capsule buried over 40 years ago. The note written by a student as an earth day project which provide seeds of various trees and plants from the surrounding area with instructions on how to plant. They had hope the discoverer would do so. Within the locket was a picture of our once blue planet "Earth", they explained in the note that with faith and love the planet will continue to be blue for ever more.

The Pontificate spoke once more: We will honor this request and spread their hope throughout our lands. We will have faith in it and restore our planet. Perhaps we can learn to love one another it will continue to grow for many years to come.

I wrote this now so that the discoverer may see and hear this message - it's never too late as long as we keep hope, faith and love alive.

humanity

About the Creator

Blackbird

Survivor, Fighter & Dreamer...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BlackbirdWritten by Blackbird

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.