Families logo

Needing Mom (When You Are a Mom)

An Excerpt from I Am A Good Mom, Right?: And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys

By Shelley WengerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Part of the cover of my book!

I love reading parenting books. Well, not all the parenting books. Just the ones that make you think that you are not alone. You know the ones that talk about REAL parenthood. The ones that talk about how the days seem to last forever. What about the ones that talk about the loneliness of being home with the kids while your husband goes off to work?

What about the guilt that takes over when you have to leave them to go to work yourself? Mom guilt is the absolute worst. No matter how hard you try, you never feel like you are enough. Are you spending enough time with the kids? Did you do something fun with them? What about your marriage? Is it thriving or are you struggling like many other new parents?

I’m talking parenting books about REAL LIFE. Not the kind that you see on television. Definitely not the kind that you see on Hallmark movies. Real mothers trying their best to get through each day, no matter what life throws at you!

For this reason, I decided to write my own book, filled with stories and things that I thought about or worried about in my day-to-day life. It got so full, it turned into a series of three!

If you are like me (and enjoy reading books about real-life parenting), you need to check out I Am a Good Mom, Right? And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys.

My goofballs!

Here is an excerpt from that book.

Needing Mom (When You Are a Mom)

You need your mom when you become a mom. She can be so helpful in the first few days as you try to figure out exactly what you are doing!

It is so scary coming home from the hospital with a newborn. I cried the whole way home myself! I felt like I had no idea what I was doing, despite spending five days in the hospital with a baby. I barely did anything but feed him because he was under the light and I felt way unprepared to care for him at home.

We were met at the door with my mom, my puppy, and dinner. It was so wonderful to be home!

Even though you will run to your mom all the time when you have children, she can be very hard on you. Some of the things that she says can just burn you up inside. She is trying to be helpful, but she is the complete opposite!

The best thing my mom ever told me was that I was a good mom because I didn’t care what my house looked like. Instead, I spent all of my time caring for my boys. She meant it as a compliment because she said that being a mom of small kids had been stressful for her because she was constantly picking up after us.

She thought that I was a much more relaxed mom than her. To me, it sounded like she was telling me how messy my house was (and is). I don’t have the energy to clean all of the time. Maybe I don’t even care enough. To her, it meant that I spent plenty of time enjoying my children.

She also reminds me that I am a good mom every time that I take the boys to the park with their friends. Little does she know that I do it for several reasons. Play dates are for me too! I need the time to socialize with other mom friends and relax.

I also used to walk to the park, so I did it to try to help me lose weight. Some days, we go to the park so they can ride their bikes and I can get my walking in at the same time. I also take the boys to the park when I’m nearing deadlines so they play and I can get some work done without interruptions.

All of my reasons are purely selfish! But if she thinks I am doing something right, I guess I must be!

I hope that you enjoyed my excerpt. I just want to make sure that you don’t feel so overwhelmed and alone. You aren’t. Even as my children grow, I still find myself having days that just feel like too much!

What will you get with this book? Probably more than you ever imagined! I cover a lot of topics, such as baby weight, mom friends, working, staying home, potty training, temper tantrums, and a whole lot more!

If you want to read more, don’t hesitate to head over to Amazon to check it out. It is on sale for 99 cents!

children
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.