Families logo

My true comfort.

I could go on and on...

By Bri DeanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Vintage picture of me with Grandpa Buck

Lying in the sun with baby oil before I knew about skin cancer.

All my childhood dreams of being a famous hip hop dancer.

My baby picture album and the smell of old times and history.

Dreams about my dad and fast pizza delivery.

Sneaking out to the hot tub after the kids have gone to bed.

The moment the meds take over the anxiety in my head.

Saving a baby bird and watching it fly away.

Struggling with my kids, but knowing I will miss this all someday.

The little bit of brown inside of my green eyes.

Knowing that came from my dad and feeling blessed to have had that guy.

Hugs from my girls on days when I feel parental guilt.

Sitting in the house that, long ago, my grandpa built.

My dad's cologne, my mom's perfume, and the smell of fresh cut grass.

Memories of bubble baths and Sunday morning mass.

When my hair shines, when my floors are clean and when everyone likes the meal.

My husband's smile, when the kids don't fight, and my favorite color, teal.

Olive Garden alfredo pasta on an only girls shopping day.

When my kids says, "Mommy, please, will you pray?'

Driving past my childhood home and dancing to make my kids giggle.

Rainbows, a clean car, sunglasses, and how a dog's butt can really wiggle.

Always saying 'I love you', even when they make me mad.

Never telling them lies, even if the truth seems pretty bad.

7am on weekdays, when the school bus fades down the gravel road.

And 3:45pm on the dot, when they make it safely back home.

My dog's soft snores from under the covers and her cold wet nose on my hand.

Snapping beans on the porch swing with grandma, so that they could then be canned.

Winning races, losing grudges and feeling my life fall right into place.

Fireplaces crackling, rain on the roof, and warm washcloths on my face.

Chocolate at times of sadness and taco Tuesday any night of the week.

The moment I saw the first sonogram and the first time I heard the heartbeat.

The calm after the storm of a tantrum that lasted way too long.

Saying the words "I'm Sorry" and growing to admit when I am wrong.

Smiles on family game night from everyone in the entire house.

When I hear the trap snap and know I finally caught the house mouse.

Gaining friends that feel like family and losing family that never did.

Showing my girls old VHS tapes of me as a really cute little kid.

Grandma's closet with hidden candy and her grandfather clock each hour.

Visiting the cemetery with tears and bringing her favorite flower.

The moment I feel God move me and when the music lifts my arms.

The last night of summer bedtime and setting the first day of school alarm.

Good teachers and bad experiences that taught me wrong from right.

Slow kisses and slow dances and experiencing love at first sight.

Massages to loosen the tension and icy hot for the oh so sore.

Finding my forever and not remembering the heartache before.

Singing in the shower and concerts as a teen.

Any Bruce Springsteen song and Michael Jackson's- 'Billy Jean'.

Buying a gift for someone or helping a stranger out too.

Back tickles at night from my husband, just like grandma used to do.

Letting someone else win the argument, even though I felt I was right.

Hating the sport of fishing, but watching my daughter get her very first bite.

An ice cold Pepsi Cola, on a record hot day in late July.

The way the magical lightning turns on the switch of a stormy night sky.

Sitting with mom in the kitchen, laughing about who knows what.

Leaving the salon after a brand new sleek and fancy hair cut.

Cherry red fingernails and mascara dark as the night.

Buying a new dress and heels online and both actually fitting just right.

Always starting right where we left off with my sisters and favorite friends.

Being married to the man of my dreams and to someone I can always depend.

Pumpkin spice all through Fall and family costumes for trick or treat.

Feeling really lonely one minute, then seeing someone saved me a seat.

Forgiving myself for past mistakes and accepting the past as the past.

Admitting that I'm always late, but never actually showing up last.

Comfort is so comforting in a time when things seem sorta strange.

It's comforting to know that all my thoughts can be rearranged.

Bad thoughts go to the back of my mind and good ones are brought to light.

And in that moment all my comforts make everything alright.

list
Like

About the Creator

Bri Dean

JStart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.