Families logo

Divorce Diaries

Rhyming Regrets (or lack there of)

By Bri DeanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Forever Torn

As defined in Webster, regret is simply put:

a feel of sad, repentant or disappointed overlook.

We may have loved and lost. We may have botched the kiss.

We might just always wonder about an opportunity we missed.

What we often can forget, is the rippling that may project.

The loss of one instance now, may cause a butterfly effect.

In order to go back and try the memory again,

we have to be okay with maybe losing ten.

We all have wished upon a star, for travel back in time.

Our mistakes we wish to erase, so our reputation is sublime.

What if instead we celebrated, each tarnished memory.

And instead of storms and thunder, we see the rainbows of travesty.

The big picture shows the timeline of what you’re all about.

Be proud of all the good times. Just make sure that they stand out.

Anxiety can tear through a person’s weary mind.

The body scars aren’t visible, but the wound is a different kind.

It can make you feel inadequate. It is the baggage we often bring.

Why not be thankful for the breath we have and the song only we can sing.

My life’s tune has not always played as a Casey’s top 40 hit.

I’ve had some disappointment and I’ve gone through some trying shit.

But, when I fall, my stance is brave. I will not lose the fight.

I wear my blunders for all to see. And I prevail just despite.

So now please let me take you, through the highs and through the lows.

For when one door creaked open, another one slammed closed.

I am thankful every day, for the regrets inside my head.

Because to simply have them, shows me I am not yet dead.

A divorce that ripped a hole, right in our family tree.

Instead looks like a new beginning in a life we both can seize.

Children thrown in the middle to use as beautiful little pawns.

Can instead be the fresh start that we base our new lives on.

Drugs, affairs, lies and screams, lead to problem after problem.

But every day we cherish now, for the climb out of rock bottom.

Harsh words were spoken often, ones we cannot believe we said.

But, the lesson learned was a useful one, as we try for friends instead.

The family tree’s still standing, new nests are being built.

The current branches indestructible, instead of brittle and dead with guilt.

We made two little girls, that if asked we both would die.

For them we would risk everything. For them we have to try.

To regret our vows, would be to erase our greatest victories.

So forever I will love you. And forever we will be.

Thank you for giving me the title of Atley and Georgia’s Mom.

The seven years that we shared were just part of our sitcom.

I think I’m a better person, for having married you.

And I’d like to think our love was real and that it isn’t completely through.

Because one day, they will be grown and we will hear their wedding cheers.

And I hope that we can sit together, trying to hold back tears.

Their dresses will be perfect. Their spouses will be kind.

Their smiles will be comforting. And their words will sound like mine.

They will vow to fight for their relationship at hand.

They will promise to forever and always together stand.

But if they lose their way and they have regrets they have to haul.

I hope we can show them our past regrets and how they weren’t actually regrets at all.

divorced
Like

About the Creator

Bri Dean

JStart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.