Families logo

My Son, My Hero

"Baby Boy"

By Adrainne ThompsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Me and my baby boy

February 15, 2022

Dear Baby Boy,

Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

As you know, I enter a writing contest, to try and win money to fund my business. One, that is on our challenge board now is entitled “Hometown Hero.” I had so many people I wanted to acknowledge for this, that I almost allowed the time to expire. But, gratefully I didn’t. So, I wanted to take a minute and say, “Thank You and I love you”.

With you being so modest and humble you will probably say, “Thank you for what, Ma?”. Thank you for being you. You are (and have been a mirrored image of Christ). Your kindness, compassion, care, generosity, non-judgmental personality, empathy has been hard to ignore.

When your father and I divorced, you were just 10 years old, and your sister was 5, you stepped right into his role. You became a little BIG man right away. It was as if it was ingrained in you. As I think back, you had spent a lot of time with your grandfather, so I expect that qualities of a good man were instilled in you.

You demonstrated responsibility, initiative, protection, helpfulness, immediately. You were more than my baby boy or a big brother, you became my best friend, and your sister’s father figure. You became the man of the house if you will. I often feel your childhood was robbed. And if it was, you didn’t seem to rebel. You stayed focused on us, our unit of three, our ‘Triangle’ as we called ourselves. Nothing was a priority for you unless we were okay first.

As you grew older and went off to college. I felt lost. My helping hand, my right arm was gone. Your sister had become very rebellious. But little to my knowledge, you created time for us, even being away. You called about every day and came home, just about every weekend, to help me care for her. You were determined that she was not going to lose two important men that supposed to play a prevalent role in a young girl’s life. Wow, to watch you with her was (and still is) mind-blowing. You gave her attention, good, sound advice, occasionally some tough love discipline, but above all you made her feel safe and important.

Now, I watch you as a married man and a father with two little girls of your own. And again, I say, wow! What an amazing man you’ve become. But you had plenty of practice, huh? I love how you take up time with them. I love how you give them one-on-one attention because their little personalities appear to be so different already. I love how you maintain date nights with your wife, to keep your marriage from becoming boring. These are things those little girls are watching. You are making sure that they don’t settle for anything less when they begin to date. What an awesome role model! You want them to say, “I wanna marry someone just like my daddy.” Some men take that for granted, but that is a trophy statement.

Not, only an amazing son, brother, husband, and father. But an incredible cousin and friend. Your extended families look up to you like crazy. They look to you for good, sound advice. They look to you as a confidant and support system. They know they can always count on you. And they look to you to just chill out and watch the game, play cards, shoot some pool, go bowling, etc. You are so well-rounded, laid back, and [have become quite flexible] that you can satisfy any appetite that’s brought to the table.

As an educator, your first job was in a very socio-economic challenging area. The majority of your children were from single-parent homes, foster homes, and others were questionable how they were living. But you not only taught them, but you also empathized with them and loved them because you identified with some of them. To date, some of those little elementary kids, have made it to college because of you. You have watched them bloom and blossom. You became a lot of their father figures, role models, and mentors. You were present in their lives. A lot of times, it is not always what you say, it is simply being present. Being present allowed them to know they could depend on you, and above all trust you.

Regardless of the hands you were dealt. You shined. We don’t always understand God’s plan for us, we just play the hands we are dealt and allow our character, the best version of ourselves, to shine through. But I have watched you stay consistent in your faith, stay consistent with building relationships, and stay consistent with leading your family. Consistency is a true sign of reliability. People can speak definitively of you. That’s so important and reassuring son.

You are a good man. You have lived a perfected life of honor and integrity, all of your life. God has designed a perfect plan for you. I saw that when you were 10 years old. You were a born leader. Now, you are 37 and still on the right path making sure you live your life decent and in order.

I feel I can speak on behalf of everyone that knows you, you are truly the wind beneath our wings. In order for you to demonstrate this kind of unconditional love to others, you have to know yourself, love yourself, and see yourself as God sees you. And we are his royal children. You are a true King’s Kid. Please enjoy this little poem I wrote for you:

My oldest. An amazing son, a caring big brother, and a devoted husband. A protective father, an influential Teacher, a mighty man of God, and a talented musician. Other than God this is my rock. When he is around, things are more at ease . I can identify with God when he talks of Jesus, because this is my son with whom I am well pleased.

I love you and I am so incredibly proud to be your Mom.

-“Ma”

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Adrainne Thompson

I was a single mom struggling w/2 small children. Presently, I'm an entrepreneur, author/poet. Never give up!

One of my greatest honors was being the first African American who displayed her poetry in the Suntrust Art Gallery in Graham, NC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.