Families logo

My Mission

By Christa

By Christa SocoPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Note from little boy-dad

Hi, my name is Bob, Bob the box. I have been sitting flat on the shelf for a while now, hoping someone will choose me to deliver something special for them. It's what I have wanted since I was created. To fulfill my job. To deliver something safely, to that special someone. I come in a package, with everything you will need to send that something to that someone. It's me, the box, along with brown paper to wrap it and a mailing label that will need to be filled out. All you need is tape.

What's this? A little boy is reaching for me. He is trying to pull me off the shelf but can't reach. A lady comes and helps him, must be his mom.

“Is this one big enough?” the little boy asked.

“I think it's perfect. It will fit everything nicely.” his mom answered back.

I have been chosen! They will be using me to transport their wares. I feel so honored. I wonder who it is and what they will fill me with. They take me to the counter and pay the nice lady who had put me on the shelf. It's my time. Goodbye package store, thank you for giving me this chance.

I'm carried out in the little boy's hands as he chats away with his mother.

“I can't wait to send daddy everything we made and got for him for Fathers Day while he is away. Dad always tells me how much he misses us, so this package will let him know we miss him too, right mom?”

“Yes, I do believe this package will make him smile, and show him how much we miss him too.”the little boy's mom replied to him.

So that will be my job. To deliver precious cargo to make his dad smile. I couldn't ask for a better objective. To safely take the items and then surrender them to this boy's dad. I do believe his smile will be well worth it. I was giddy with excitement at the thought of my journey ahead. The Mission I will be given. It will be amazing.

When they finally got me home, the little boy put me on the floor and opened the package with the help of his mother. They popped me open and taped my bottom for extra sturdiness. Then the little boy ran and started bringing an assortment of items to be placed inside me. The mom came over and helped the little boy fill me up with his gifts. They packaged me carefully, making sure nothing would happen to the items inside.

“Mom, wait! I almost forgot the most important gift!” the little boy yelled as he ran out the room again. The mother just smiled and waited for her little guy to come back into the room. He handed the last gift to her and told her “I can't wait for dad to get this box!”

They made sure they had added everything then started closing me up. They folded my flaps intertwined and taped them shut. Next they grabbed the brown paper and carefully wrapped the box with it. “I get to decorate the outside now right?” the little boy asked his mom.

“Yes, go get your markers, I'll help you.” the mom answered back.

For the next hour mother and son decorated the brown paper wrapped around me. I was so proud to be entrusted with this good burden. It filled me with a sense of fulfillment that I knew would only grow stronger the closer I got to my destination. Finally the mother filled out the label and stuck it on top of me. I was ready.

They took me to the post office and handed me off to the clerk, who smiled and commented on me,”oh, I wonder what can be in this curious box.?” The little boy giggled and answered, “it's a surprise for my daddy.” The clerk then handed me over to the worker who placed me on a shelf labeled Louisiana. I was going to the home of the bayou. Wow, that was a far trip. I wonder how I will travel. By truck? By air? Oh the adventure that is about to begin for me. Though no matter what may come, I must protect my cargo.

I sat for a while until the worker came back and started taking the other packages and I off the shelves. He examined me before he placed me into a big truck neatly and safely, I wish I could thank him for that. Not even knowing the priceless items I carry he treated me like porcelain. The truck started up and off we went. Where to, I haven't the foggiest, but knowing I was on my way kept my spirits up and my mind on task. We drove for a while when I started hearing loud noises. Engines? Were we at the airport?! My excitement grew. Will I be traveling by plane? Oh the idea of soaring above the clouds to get these possessions to their owner made me over the moon.

The truck's back doors were opened and another worker started passing us off to others. A few of the workers kept inspecting me as they passed me along. I was jostled around a little bit and had a faint worry for my cargo but I knew the little boy and his mom packaged me well and everything should be safe. I relaxed and just waited for the next step. I was pushed to the belly of a huge plane. I had never seen anything so big and I would be flying in it. Amazement was all I felt for a while. The workers, some carefully, others not so much, deposited us into the plane. Luckily I had a lady who with a large smile was careful with me as she secured me into my section. She stared at me with a suspicious eye. “ I bet this package is for someone very special,” she commented as she went back to work. Well she wasn't wrong, I was for someone very special to a little boy. Now, It was just a matter of time before we took off and started the next leg of my journey to get to him.

Engines started, and a rumbling feeling commenced. We were about to take off. From my spot secured on a shelf, I could see out a window across from me. I saw the runway come into view as the plane positioned itself for take off. Any moment now. The rumbling intensified and felt the movement of the plane gain speed. Faster and faster until I started seeing the ground grow farther away. Up, and up we went. So fast I watched as the towns grew smaller as we flew higher. We went high into the clouds and I just marveled at it. How many other boxes got to experience this. Did others feel the same way I did? A sense of excitement and of responsibility being the one to deliver the goods. It was everything I had hoped for. I got lost in the clouds and just was, for a while. The slowing and descent of the plane pulled me back and my anticipation grew inside me. Another journey was about to begin.

The plane landed smoothly, which I was thankful for, and new workers came to remove us from the belly of the plane. Again, some of the workers stopped and looked at me with such fascination. Others wondered out loud what could be inside me as they started separating us into different trucks for different areas of Louisiana. Once finished they closed the doors and patted the outside. A signal for my driver to be on his way. And on our way we went. I don't know how many more stops there are till I get to my destination, but knowing how close I am,I could barely contain my excitement. I tried to patiently wait as we drove. Soon. Soon I will be there and the little boy's dad will open me up and I will get to see that smile the little boy wanted.

It seemed our next stop was to another post office, they separated me from other packages and again people commented with wonder at who i was for and what was inside me. I waited to be placed on another truck to be taken where I needed to go. That didn't happen though. The clerk with a silly grin, took me from my spot and handed me to a man. A man I recognized. It was the little boy's dad! He looked just like his son. He laughed a little as he picked me up looking at me this way and that. Taking in my decoration. He had picked me up from the post office and now will be taking me back to where he was staying. Yes! The anticipation was killing me. I knew the little boy had put a lot of effort into my packaging and dad already seemed to love it. The drive was filled with suspense as the dad kept looking at me, with curiosity in his eyes. He was dying to know what was inside me. I just knew it.

He finally parked and pulled me out of the truck, carrying me past some guys.” hey, what's that you got there?” “That looks like a mighty suspicious package you got there.” some of them hollard at the dad.

“Just a surprise from my little man and my wife.” the little boy's dad said to the group of men as he continued walking to his room. He entered and set me down on the table inside. He had a small grin on his face as he turned on a light and sat down in front of me. He sighed as he started looking over all the drawings and words on my outside, chuckling a couple times at some of the funny drawings. Then slowly he pulled out a knife and carefully cut the tape to pull the brown paper off me. This was it. Moment of truth. I had safely delivered all the items the little boy had sent to his dad. My job was almost over. All he had to do was open me. Slowly he cut the remaining tape on me and slowly opened my flaps. Right on top was a bracelet and a folded note that said Happy Fathers Day.

“ Dear Dad, wear this bracelet wherever you go. When you are feeling lonely or miss me and mom press the button and my twin bracelet will vibrate. I can do it back to you too! So you always know we are thinking about you! Can't wait for you to come home, the other stuff will keep you company until you do! Press the button as soon as you get it! Mom already has it all set me. Love you always and always! Happy Fathers day! Your son.”

And there it was, a large genuine smile from the boy's dad, with tears in his eyes too as he pressed the button and waited for the return vibrate. I had done it. I fulfilled my purpose in life and connected the little boy to his dad. I couldn't ask for a better ending.

But was it the end? I saw a pile of items next to me on the table and once the dad emptied me of the gifts he had gotten, he started filling me back up. Oh,I realized he was sending me back with more precious cargo to his little boy. Well sir, i was ready for this next mission. Fill me up!

values
Like

About the Creator

Christa Soco

i love books and want to create my own stories and take people to different worlds in my books as others have done for me. My addiction is growing from reading to writing books! Dont for get to smile and get lost in some great stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.