Families logo

My littles.

No life without them.

By Lee NaylorPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I wonder where those days went. The days where your little blonde head was even with the counter. Kids climbing up the counter on the quest to help me cook dinner, or make cookies.

We would measure and mix together, we would roll out bake and decorate. When knees were scraped that's where we clean and do first aid. I remember it like yesterday, little blonde heads out in the yard running around playing. Remember the day you wanted to dig, and you didn't stop for hours.

The whole was so big you could stand right in it. Such proud little faces, all dusty with dirt. Couldn't help but laugh. I have pictures somewhere and you'll get to see it again, but oh boy my sons were you so much fun.

My little girl with her stray little curl that she always hated and I always loved. Loved her fancy dresses and wore them to play outside with her brothers. Wild Child. My little mommas girl

I remember reading every night, after your jammas were on and you were tucked in tight. I would read until I heard deep breathing and sometimes little snores. The boys anyway. Wild child preferred to climb. roll around and talk. She slept better when left alone.

I remember days at the zoo. We would speed on through and look at all our favorite things. We would catch lunch in the bistro, then if you were good you got to choose something at the gift shop. Always a new little furry friend.

I remember after we would get home my children would be tired. We would eat dinner, watch movies and take naps. I remember going to the mall. The bookstore was one of our favorite places. The old fashioned toy store was new and unique, and movies were right around the corner.

Camping with Uncle, dirt all over your clothes. Shooting guns and campfire stories. The coyotes howling all around til I started to feel like dinner. So we climbed in the car and settled in for night, while the boys hunkered down in the back of the truck. My and the wild child with dirt all over our clothes.

When did you get so big. When did you go away. Now you have families of your own. Haven't seen my boys in months, my grandkids so far away. Getting married and settling in to your own show. Wild child not so wild anymore. Almost just as grown.

Time slipped by and took away the life I was living the most. Trying to find me as I'm meant to be. Figure out what to do next. Never thought I'd be here at this time in life, alone and still trying to figure it all out.

The time was so fast as it fluttered by. Memories that last and echo laughter in my soul. We've done so many things together. Laughed, cried, loved, been angry with each other. Where did all the time go?

Those little blonde heads in my memories, climbing the counters, digging holes and playing with the big boys. I was warned about the quickness in the years as they fly by. I laughed with all my ego thinking it would take a lifetime. Here we are.

Blonde heads so far away, making families of their own. I wonder if you think about me. I wonder if you need me at all. I have so much time on my hands and miss the little patter of the feet, the laughter and the tears. I miss the visits to the zoo, and the holiday traditions that we pursued.

Where does the time go. You think you have forever to watch them grow, then suddenly you blinked and missed it. Time where does it go? How many times in this lifetime do we have to figure out just who we are and what we know.

Never standing still never able to turn around. Always moving forward with a smile or a frown. The time it keeps on ticking doesn't care what we are missing out on. Just goes and goes the only reliable. The world always changing, moving and growing.

Treasure the moments when they are young. When the learn to crawl, and walk, and talk. When they start to go out and explore. Listen when they want to talk, and hug them all the more. Take naps, have movie nights, go camping and tell stories in the dark.

Love with all your heart. Time it is a monster as it ticks by without remorse. When someone tells you it goes by in a flash, take heed instead of scoff. The years they tick right by. Leaving those little blonde heads bigger than you and feeling so high.

Time steals away the opportunity to make it last. Always in a hurry to get a head. Missing the little things that got us here and the way it seems to fall into place.

Your laughing in the kitchen still such a melodious thing to hear. Your friend he laughs along with you. better than when he never used to smile because he felt as though there was no one to care. I remember those days for me. Seems like a hundred lifetimes gone by.

Time it keeps on ticking. The years go by so fast. We learn the lessons sent to us and never can go back. Always hurrying each other forward, never looking back. The point is moving forward and shining bright along the way.

Write your story with lots of pictures so you don't forget in this life. Forgive yourself first for the mistakes that you make and learn the lesson it teaches you there. Love with all you've got because you never know when you'll blink and find your life has started anew.

Go with the flow and love while you can as the clock just keeps ticking along. We weren't meant to sit still. Remember the moments that go flashing by. Take up a pen and write a story that lasts. Write yourself in doing the things you've loved all your life.

Be kind to each other and all those around you and watch the world start to shine. Laugh at the things like you're still so young and never stop living like you are as young as you feel.

Smile and remember. The house may now be empty with only the memories alive in quiet rooms. Remember the cookies that were made and decorated and the muddy feet through the house. The grass stained knees and boxes of band aids printed with super heroes to mend any wound.

Remember the struggles through the night with the flu. The heart ache of a first break up, and learning to drive the car. Time just keeps ticking by. A new year comes and goes just as quick and look now you've blinked and they've all grown and gone.

children
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.