Families logo

My Journey to a Ketogenic Diet: The Benefits and How I Did It.

It is feasible to follow a keto diet while still enjoying curries and dishes.

By XcellentWritePublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
My Journey to a Ketogenic Diet: The Benefits and How I Did It.
Photo by David B Townsend on Unsplash

Ketogenic diets are increasingly popular for weight loss, diabetes prevention, and more. Although they can be difficult to follow, many people have found them to be life-changing. This is my story on how I transitioned to a ketogenic diet and the benefits that I had.

I first started following a ketogenic diet in late 2017 after I became very interested in it through an online course on nutrition. I was looking for ways to lose weight and reverse my type 2 diabetes without medication. There were lots of studies showing how it could help with both of those things.

At first, it seemed like it would be too hard because you can’t eat anything with sugar or carbs (even fruit), but there are plenty of substitutes for things like brown rice noodles if you want noodles without soy sauce. It just takes some learning about what foods do work and how much you should eat of them per day.

I’ve been following the diet ever since then and have managed to.

Get My FREE Keto Diet Cookbook Packed With Essential Recipes.

My Journey to a Ketogenic Diet

When I first stumbled across the idea of a ketogenic diet, I was sceptical. After all, there were so many conflicting opinions on them and what they do for your body. But soon after researching it and trying out the diet for myself, I learned that keto can be life-changing:

I first started following a ketogenic diet in late 2017 after I became very interested in it through an online course on nutrition. I was looking for ways to lose weight and reverse my type 2 diabetes without medication.

There were lots of studies showing how it could help with both of those things. At first, it seemed like it would be too hard because you can’t eat anything with sugar or carbs (even fruit), but there are plenty of substitutes for things like brown rice noodles if you want noodles without soy sauce. It just takes some learning about what foods do work and how much you should eat of them per day.

I’ve been following the diet ever since then and have managed to lose 30 pounds so far! It took me a little while at first to get used to not eating sugar or carbohydrates (including fruit) but now that I’ve adjusted, I feel great!

Get My FREE Keto Diet Cookbook Packed With Essential Recipes.

What is a Ketogenic Diet?

A ketogenic diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that forces your body to switch from using glucose (a type of sugar) for energy to using ketones (another type of sugar) instead.

By Farhad Ibrahimzade on Unsplash

The Benefits of ketosis.

There are many benefits to following a ketogenic diet. I’ve found that it has helped me lose weight and reverse my type 2 diabetes, but there are many other benefits, too.

Weight Loss: Research has shown that ketogenic diets can be helpful for weight loss because they help you shed body fat while preserving muscle mass. They do this by sending your body into a state of ketosis where it burns stored fats for energy instead of burning carbohydrates.

Diabetes Prevention: Studies have also shown that ketogenic diets can reduce insulin resistance and lead to better blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes patients.

Better Mental Health: Some people experience relief from depression, anxiety, and bipolar disorder when on keto because their brain is able to use the healthy fats for fuel rather than turning them into unhealthy sugars.

Keto can help with weight loss, diabetes prevention, and more.

I first started following a ketogenic diet in late 2017 after I became very interested in it through an online course on nutrition.

I was looking for ways to lose weight and reverse my type 2 diabetes without medication. There were lots of studies showing how it could help with both of those things.

At first, it seemed like it would be too hard because you can’t eat anything with sugar or carbs (even fruit), but there are plenty of substitutes for things like brown rice noodles if you want noodles without soy sauce. It just takes some learning about what foods do work and how much you should eat of them per day.

Get My FREE Keto Diet Cookbook Packed With Essential Recipes.

By Louis Hansel on Unsplash

Tips on how to start a keto diet.

1. Figure out what you’re going to eat. There are lots of resources online and in stores that can help guide you to foods that work and that won’t undo all your hard work.

2. Create a plan and stick to it. I used a keto app and had an idea of how many grams of carbs, protein, and fat I could have each day, so I wasn't hungry or confused about what I could eat.

3. Find keto-friendly alternatives for things like brown rice noodles if you want noodles without soy sauce or almond flour if you want pancakes without sugar or flour.

4. Read labels on food packages to see the number of carbs per serving, so you know how much to eat at one time, so you don't go over your limits for the day!

Get My FREE Keto Diet Cookbook Packed With Essential Recipes.

Conclusion

A ketogenic diet is not just another diet for me. It is the key to my success. It is the key to my happiness. It is the key to my future.

I am not just following keto for weight loss, but I am following keto to be healthy. I am following keto to take care of myself. And I am following keto because it works for me.

I know that there are others who are still struggling with their weight and looking for answers. I know there are others who are still searching for something to take away this pain. I know people who are still struggling with health problems like diabetes, cancer, and heart disease. I know people who are feeling like failures because they can't seem to find time for themselves or time for the people they love the most.

Furthermore, I am telling you this not because I want your sympathy, but because I want you to know that there is hope, there is a way, and it's called a keto diet.

Get My FREE Keto Diet Cookbook Packed With Essential Recipes.

how tosingleproduct reviewextended familyadvice
Like

About the Creator

XcellentWrite

Francis Xoagub: Retired journalist turned online entrepreneur, freelance writer, health & fitness advocate. Empowering you to live a vibrant life. I believe in the power of knowledge to transform lives. Join me on a journey of exploration.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.