Families logo

My Daughter is Stronger Than Me

by Jalissa McCauley

By JalissaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Daughter is Stronger Than Me
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

My daughter is stronger than me. She is so small, yet so tall. She grows in body yes, but also in mind and heart each day in leaps and bounds. Every day she lifts me up, even when she is down because I see a strength of kindness and goodness in her. She is beautiful in every way, most beautiful by her spirit. My daughter's spirit is loving, brave, kind, adventurous--a little bit of an adrenaline junkie. Her spirit is caring, sweet, imaginative, but most of all hopeful.

There have been days when I feel the lowest possible. When it feels like there are no answers, no warriors of justice, no peace. On those days, my daughter, even when she also feels down, she still rises above it. She holds my hand, gives me a hug, and tells me words of encouragement. Sometimes, reminding me of things I have told her before.

My daughter has had to grow up faster than she should have as she is unfortunately a child of divorce. The beginning years of her life were happy because we were always together, but shrouded around us was something hidden. We felt it but did not understand or see it until it was almost too late. Life was strange and scary, and we had to weave through it until we got to safer ground. The ground is still rocky where we stand together, and my daughter stands firm even after a stumble or with the occasional scrape on her knee. Her strength of perseverance amazes and strengthens me.

With two younger brothers, my daughter gained maternal instincts while they were still in my womb, and she guards them with her heart on her sleeve. They see a sweet and protective older sister they want to play with. She sees her self-given older sister's responsibility for two rowdy boys she loves with all her heart. When my daughter is upset, her hurt or angry feelings radiate everywhere. When she is happy, her joy and excitement are immeasurable, and they sing and dance together off the walls. Her strength of heart is heartwarming and beautiful.

As I watch her with others of all ages, classmates, teachers, and so on, I see how she stays in their minds, like a light was turned on in a dark room of their mind and it shines through their eyes. They see how she cares about people and important causes, how she tries to help, and how she tries to understand all that she can. They see how kind and good she is, and it brings them up. Her strength of virtue shines out for all to see.

My daughter is everything wonderful. I love and cherish her wonderful spirit and all that she is and will become. I know she will bring love to the world because she already does. With her strength of spirit, she inspires me to stay hopeful. She encourages me to keep hanging on, and so I keep moving forward.

Though my daughter is young, learning so many new ideas and concepts for her elementary age, she is wise beyond her years. Almost instinctually. My mother would say she is an old soul. I believe that to be true in more ways than one. I am thankful my daughter is stronger than me. Because she needs to be strong in a tough world. Because it means when she falls, she will stand back up. She will speak out. She will keep learning and keep growing even when her body catches up in age with her soul. My daughter will be a powerful woman one day because she is a powerful spirit.

children
1

About the Creator

Jalissa

Author and Artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.