Families logo

My brother’s nickname and the story behind it

This is kinda a part of the my nine year old self and all my enemies series

By And I am NightmarePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My brother’s nickname and the story behind it
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My oldest brother and best friend, Benadykt, was adopted. He had lived in Mongolia four years before we had for him. I’m writing this today in honor of his gotcha day(with his permission, of course). This story is the one of how he got is infamous nickname that his kahoot name for the rest of his life. Have you ever heard of the game Dutch blitz? If you haven’t, it’s a fast paced card game, that if I do say so myself, I excelled at. I never lost a game. It was so bad to the point we had to make a deal. If I wanted to play, getting half my points would be considered winning for the other side. So one late Friday night, my parents and much older sisters were watching Jurassic park in the living room, and me and Benadykt we forced to hide out in the back room until it was finished. Back then, we were terrified that even hearing the smallest sound from the movie would give us nightmares for the rest of our lives. That was a very long movie, and in about an hour or so, we had exhausted all the games we owned already. So I used one of my many talents to wheedle Benadykt to play Dutch Blitz with me. We played a few rounds with the rule I had stated above, and I beat him every time. I could sense he was starting to get tired, but I managed to convey him into one more game. Now, around this time the ninth fast and furious was coming out. We were all interested in seeing it, because we were finally old enough too. We had watched the trailer a million times in the mall. At one point in the trailer, the main villain, stands proudly in front of the screen and says, “I’m like black Superman!”

Benadykt thought it was absolutely hilarious. Given any possible chance, he would say that. He perfected the accent and the way he tugged down his jacket and everything. So, we played that last round of Dutch Blitz, and Benadykt had finally started to take up enough points to possibly beat me by the half rule. This was an impressive feat for anyone. He was incredibly excited, and of course, took the chance.

“You’re doing pretty good.” I told him.

“I’m like black Superman!” He said.

What happened next was certainly something I did not plan on coming out of my mouth. Just so you understand, I didn’t have a racist bone in me, but me and Benadykt often joked about him being Asian. So before I could stop myself, it came out.

“You’re like Asian stupid man.” I replied without thinking. He laid down a few more cards before fully processing what I had just said. Then he looked up at me in shock and we both cracked up. Ever since that night, it was his official title. But it didn’t end there. Not too long after, we moved to Texas for a few months. We went to a youth group near us that was pretty big. Of course, one day we ran out of things to do early, and some of the people who ran it decided to set up kahoot. While we were desperately searching for a name, I jokingly suggested Asian stupid man. This was Texas. Despite have over thirty kids there, there was not a single Asian one. But Benadykt being Benadykt, of course took it to heart and and put that in for our name(we were on the same team). It took about two seconds for someone to call out

“Who’s Asianstupidman?!”

And it took about two minutes for Benadykt to respond with a cheerful grin,

“Oh that was me!”

On the bright side, we won.

Well, now you know. Thanks for reading!

siblings
1

About the Creator

And I am Nightmare

I am a budding writer, and still only a teen. I love any support that comes my way. I am also a Dark Empath, psychologist in training, and baker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.