Families logo

MOTHER OF EXCELLENCE

Mother knows best of all.

By OlivePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
MOTHER OF EXCELLENCE
Photo by Liana Mikah on Unsplash

There are mothers in great numbers all over the world today and they are worthy to be honored and cherished. Some mothers are the strength and backbone of the family, so most times they are the fore runners in challenging situations, that may arise in the family. How wonderful and vital is the presence of a nurturing, caring, considerate and business oriented mother in a family, who is always willing to face whatever it is and stand in the gap for the well-being of her loved ones. I reflected on the life of my childhood and appreciated the things my Mom did to make me the person I am today. I will now relate to all who will read my story, the profound training I got from this extraordinary lady.

I was born in the late 70's and was the only child of my lovely mother. I was so fortunate to be born from this georgeos , disciplinarian woman. As I grew into childhood my mother began to steer me in the right direction. I was pompered and loved in some very motherly way and she was never lack of the essentials for my daily care. My mother always making sure she didnt lose sight of me, wherever I would be in the house, or anywhere we would go and as I grew older and could understand more about my upbringing, I noticed the way she treated me and even others around me.

"Mom" as I affectionately called her, was a woman of discipline and etiquete .She taught me how to exercise good manners in all aspects of life and I was forced to obey. First things she taught was to respect her and my Dad. Though small as I was, at the age of one and a half years old, I was taught not to be very noisy. It was not very easy for me to understand but gradually I learnt what she meant. Mom continued to teach me mannerly attitudes as I grew older and could understand better, so she taught me next, how to indicate when I wanted to use the restroom. Oh there was no getting away from her, in learning the things of every day life, as time went on. When I started school she would take me to school in the mornings and return in the afternoon for me. I was told not to leave the classroom until she arrived so I had to obey. Mom warned me about any kind of fight with any other student at school and if anyone disturbed me I should tell it to my teacher and let her dealt with it. She told me to try not to get into trouble with other students. Mom was very protective of me and I am happy she did.

I can remember vividly when I was able to speak clearly and recognising wrong from right, that she took me to the stove and showed me the flame, then warned me that if I touched it, I would be burned on my fingers. My Mom was very instrumental in caring for me and making sure I was safe at all times. She taught me good table manners, as to my behavior at meal time. She told me how to cover my mouth, if I had to cough, how to hold my knife and fork, do not talk with food in my mouth and if I was leaving the table before everyone else was finished eating, I was supposed to say, "Please excuse me from the table". She also taught me to push back the chair, under the table when I was finished eating. That was just good table manners. My Mom made sure I was not possessed with a lazy attitude, so she would assigned chores for me to do on a daily basis. As I grew older she delegated to me the things that I could manage to do, such as sweeping the house and washing dishes.

She was very kind and loving and she would always impressed on me how to be nice to people. She was very keen on how I addressed the elderly, that was anyone, that was older than I, especially the ones who could be my parents, in terms of age difference. I had to answer yes maam, or no maam, yes sir, or no sir. Mom was a real boss for me and I had to obey her. She was very strict in raising me. When I was a teenager and if I would like to go out with friends, I could not make a move, without getting approval from her and she had to know the friends I was going with. I was given specific time to return and I better be back ontime. I was not allowed to go to the neighbors house without her permission and she had to know that I was invited. My Mom was very caring to the neighbors children and she would invite them over to our house, for treats at different times in the year, like back to school and Christmas. She was also concerned about their upbringing and listened to the way they spoke and corrected them, when neccessary. She was a role model in her community and the people respected her.

Mom instilled in me good moral values at an early age and as I grew into adulthood, I practiced them and never forgot what she taught me. I am very pleased today about the way my mother, whom I would call a bossy Mom, raised me. I now practice the things she taught me, as I impart them to my children and expect them to impart to their children. If a Mom is called a "Boss Mom" most likely she will raise her children on the right path and they will be good citizens of whatever country they live.

I want to say thank you Mom for your dedicated, rentless years of raising me in such a profound way. I implore you for being the woman you are and I present you to the world today. "HAPPY BOSS MOM DAY"

Composed by: Olive Taylor

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.