Families logo

Memories

Part one: Keeping the memories of my Grand Parents alive.

By Lorne VanderwoudePublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Memories

My Grand Father was born in 1899 and my Grand Mother was born in 1911. I do have a lot of memories of my Grand Parents over the past years. When I was brought home from the adoption agency, in August of 1968, both of my Grand Parents raced across our street to get a glimpse of their new Grandson. Now, these memories were told to me by my parents over the years. As an infant, for some reason, I do not have any memories stored in my brain, of any event which happened while I was a baby. In a way, I do wish that I had these memories to draw from especially when I am writing all about my memories of my Grand Parents.

My Grand Father was rather a short man who had a special walk every time I went across the street to visit them. He was a farmer on a farmstead which was located just outside of a small village of Alliance. Alliance is a village which is in central Alberta. This place became a village in 1918. This place is located on Highway 602 which is approximately 160 km east of Red Deer. I do remember the drives which we took out in the country just outside of this village. I would hear our parents announce that we will be seeing where Grandma and Grandpa used to live. This would get me so excited when I would hear their announcement. Then every time we would pull into an approach that looked like it was going into a farmstead yard. Every time, there would be a large open field with a grain building placed right where the house used to be.

There were all sorts of stories about the old homestead. There was never any running water or electricity into the homestead. In order to use the bathroom, one would have to use the outhouse which was located at the back of the house. In order to have a bath, one would have to haul in the water from the old pump which was located outside where the well was. Then the water was heated then hauled upstairs to where the bathtub was located. This was done once a week for all to have one bath per week. Then in 1968, grandpa and grandma moved into Sedgewick into a house that had running water and elecricity. This was the year which I was born which made this to be a very special time in history. Mr. Manning was finishing the last year of his time as premier. The older house where these two people moved into always held a lot of memories for me. I had many memories from my childhood there in that house. I had so many memories of grandpa. One time he had me count to 60 in order to learn how long a minute was. Then there was time inside of the house that happened when I came to visit the two of them.

He would trot into the living room to where his dresser was located. He would reach into a drawer and before I knew it, I had a raspberry candy in my hand. Grand Mother always had a treat for me to eat as I sat in the kitchen. I remember the pancakes she served me with maple syrup and butter which I plastered on them. Then without warning, my Grand Mother told me to quickly hide the plates because my Father was coming. I did exactly what she asked me to do and I sat there quietly as my Father knocked and entered the kitchen where we were sitting. He was in his police uniform which made him look very official.

I was helping my Grand Father with some projects in the garden. He asked me to wait one minute before I was allowed to go run home. He asked me to count to sixty which was the period of time of one minute. I never did forget that lesson in timekeeping.

I did do errands for Grand Mother. I went to get her mail from the local post office. I got her mail from her mailbox. I was paid one dollar for the deed. I mowed the lawn which earned me $20.00. This was big money for me especially when my allowance was $10.00 per month during the school year and $20.00 over the Summer months. I had to vacuum every Saturday for Mother in order to get this money.

The one treat which Grand Mother provided every Summer which we were taking vacations in Canada, was the $20.00 per year for a trip to McDonald's which was located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. I always order a Big Mac, small milk and apple pie for every year when we went to that same McDonald's in Saskatoon. I still love that sandwich which I still order from the same restaurant where I live. This sandwich gave me a lot of pleasure for all of those visits to that restaurant.

There is a hole in my life after we lost Grand Father in 1988. He lost his memory over time and I watched him decline which really bothered me a lot. Grand Mother passed away in 1992 after she had a second stroke. I really do miss these two people because they made me feel very important unlike a lot of people who made me feel second best. I remember Grand Father in different nursing homes which ended him passing away in 1988 in the Fall. I do remember his funeral. It was never very easy for me. Then when my Grand Mother passed away in the Spring of 1992 which was months before I met the girl who is my wife for the past 26 years.

I will always remember these people for the rest of my life. I will miss them until I join them after I also will have my date with death. Then I will be able to spend the rest of eternity with all those who I really do miss now. That day will be a very happy day for me and I do look forward to that day.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Lorne Vanderwoude

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.