Families logo

Marriage on the Brain

Marriage

By Ayanna DorePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a mother of a seven year old, you would think that the normal dinner conversation would be about video games and toys. Nope, not my seven year old. My son Mikyle is smart for his age and very advanced, he was surrounded by a lot of adults as a toddler. His sarcastic charm made his personality. Now I’m going to take you back to when it all started. One day leaving the staff nursery, we said goodbye to a little girl and her mom. The little girl moved in to give Mikyle a kiss, but he didn’t realize and he slightly moved and she mistakenly kisses him on the lips. Shocked and embarrassed Mikyle, started to freak out and shouts, “Oh no I kissed Hannah on the lips now I have to ask her dad for her hand in marriage and I have to get a job I can’t go to pre-K.” I told him it’s ok it was a accident and he’s not in trouble and that it doesn’t mean he has to marry her. He says, “If you kiss someone on the lips you have to marry them." The parents and I joked about it before I took my embarrassed Mikyle home. That’s when things started to get serious for him about marriage and love.

Now he wants to get married to the “ONE” and fall in love and have kids and move to South Africa. WHY South Africa? He wants to move to South Africa because he was in love with my boss. Yes my boss, he said she is beautiful with nice hair and nice skin. He saw her for the first time and blushed immediately and fell in love. Every time he would see her he would run to her and hug her. Until one day, she was alone sitting in the passenger seat of her car and he ran up to the car asking her why was she just sitting there. She replied I am waiting for my husband. Mikyle shouts “HUSBAND.” He then screams, “You can’t have a husband you're too young." His face was filled with such disappointment.

She said to him, "Mikyle I’m a grown up I’m not too young." He said ok and was very to walk away. We went home in silence as tears formed in his eyes. Later we spoke about the situation and he said I’m ok with it now he said, “I’ll just marry another girl from South Africa and move there."

So the next week passed and Mikyle was at the bookstore at my job with me and a lot of other staff were in there as well. So he is behind the counter helping to sell some items. When my boss' husband walks in (he’s in charge of the book store). But before I continue I have to explain his personality, he’s a funny sarcastic jokester that kind of acts like a big kid sometimes and he’s also from South Africa. So as he approaches Mikyle he says, “Hey you I heard that tried to take my wife from me."

Mikyle instantly forms an attitude and says, “No I didn’t know she was married, but that’s over I don’t want her anymore."

They continue to argue and Mikyle ignores him and says, “Anyway does anyone want to buy a ball?”

He taps Mikyle on the shoulder and says, “Hey I’m still talking to you.”

Mikyle turns around annoyed and says, “Well I’m done talking to you.” He looks at Mikyle and he cannot stop laughing.

Another staff guy asks how old is this kid. So he continues to look at Mikyle and says, “There are so many single ladies on staff, why do you need to take a married woman?"

Mikyle looks at him with frustration and says, “I don’t want any ladies from here and I don’t want your wife.” He looks at me and asks if he can leave.

Eventually him and my boss' husband become friends and Mikyle actually looks up to him now and says he’s going to be like him and become a CEO and drive fancy cars and marry a woman from South Africa and move there.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.