Families logo

Mama

The nurturing support of a mother's embrace

By HaseenaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
Mama, painting by Haseena

I sit at the base of a wise old tree, the roots firm within the ground, and through the ages it stands tall. My mama was not native to the place where she raised me. She came across in her late teens with hopes and dreams. She navigated the nuances of learning another language and adapting to a new culture. As I child I was not aware of any difference, she was there, constant, and steadfast. Her love guiding me, like a compass steers a sailing ship. I learnt her mother tongue and found comfort in her embrace. She knitted and sewed me clothes in the style of her homeland. These items are still cherished and held in my mind.

There is the connection, between mother and child, and threads that were once held, collapse, expand and form new life. This bond that exists is outside of this physical plane. It has a unique essence, energy, and space. To touch it is unlike anything in this life. My mama showed me that I come from her love and light. She taught me that I could achieve what I desire.

Mama and me, painting by Haseena

This tree knows, it sees what was before and what is to come. It has a message of hope and breathes its own song. It provides shelter for the animals, and from its branches children play and swing. It has no end and no beginning. It just is and exists. People come and they go, sometimes they stay with this tree for a while. It hums a tune and if you listen closely, you can hear the vibration tick with time. The bark is worn, and it bears the changing weather. Its leaves fall and later blossoms come alive.

The space that my mother creates, is like this tree. It nurtures, it supports and is always there. Mama, you taught me first and foremost to believe in myself. You showed me that sometimes life gets out of control. Your path forged from many branches and equal to mine. You overcame uncertainty and hardships unknown. Sometimes life brings sadness and separation within this world. I too know the extremes of running free with the wind, falling, and being overwhelmed. You showed me it is possible, even when it has not been foretold. You went back to education despite it not being part of your ideal plan. I learnt about your strength and courage, and that it is okay that it is different to mine.

The tree releases its acorns, some drop close by, and others travel far and wide. One day it is attached and the next it falls to the earth. Oh, the joy of this acorn as it reaches the ground. The panic when it realises it is no longer held. It finds its own way deep down in the darkness. It bides its time, growing and striving for the light. It seeks to reach the power of the sun.

There comes a moment when it is time to leave home. There is a letting go that is required for a child to reach their own belonging. A painstaking chord cutting that needs to take place. The being once held in their mother’s womb, is birthed, and needs to open to a whole other place.

Each generation has its own story and healing to come. There is a whisper from the ancestors to guide us along. Each of us has a wound that needs to be healed. There is repair work that is needed in this life that is our home. We are part of this journey, and we are not alone. Gifts are indeed passed down from generation to generation. The blessings to come are welcomed and felt.

You showed me I can heal my wounds and shape my future. You believed that I have value and that I am more than able. Like you, my spirit is free and my heart dances wild. I can create and be happy in this one true life. The tree lives on, even when it is no more. The earth feeds from its energy right down to the core. The rings of the tree, ancient and wise, are passed down in this cycle of life.

I am on my own journey, and it has its own rhythm and rhyme. The boundaries exist for expansion of the self, and with it love grows and stands the test of time. We rise in the battle and take up this fight. There are two sides of the same coin, and both come from the same potent fire. On this adventure searching for knowledge, I am undone inside and receive new life. The joy surpassing all intention, the outpouring of investment. The peace overflowing, and the stillness a haven. Oh, what it means to be true and kind.

A wise old tree, photography by Haseena

Thank you, tree, for the wisdom you share. Thank you, mama, for your love and care.

parents
9

About the Creator

Haseena

By day I work with children and adolescents who have mental health difficulties. At night I am a writer and artist. I believe that each one of us has a unique story to tell. Creativity heals and expands my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.