Families logo

Love and Freedom

The Hardships Faced by LGBT+ Folks in the Philippines

By Mojo DiazPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Love and Freedom
Photo by Mick De Paola on Unsplash

The LGBT+ community in the Philippines faces numerous challenges that hinder their ability to live authentically and find acceptance. As someone who came out at the age of 25, I understand the fear that accompanies sharing one's true identity with family and friends. Despite finding happiness in an eight-year relationship, the unfortunate reality is that same-sex marriage is not allowed in the country. These struggles highlight the need for change and support for LGBT+ individuals, both within their families and society at large.

In a society that values traditional gender roles, it can be difficult for LGBT+ individuals to break free from societal expectations. Fear of rejection from loved ones and society can be paralyzing, making it hard to express one's true self. I experienced this fear firsthand, denying my own truth for years and hiding who I truly was.

When I finally gathered the courage to come out, I faced a mix of reactions. Some friends were accepting and supportive, while others distanced themselves. The feeling of being abandoned by those I held dear was heartbreaking, but it also revealed who my true allies were.

Family dynamics play a significant role in the struggles of LGBT+ individuals. The pressure to conform to traditional gender roles can be especially strong in a society that values close-knit familial bonds. Many LGBT+ individuals fear disappointing their parents or being seen as a source of shame within their families. The thought of potentially losing the love and support of one's family weighs heavily on the minds of those grappling with their sexual orientation or gender identity.

In my case, it took years to overcome these fears and come out to my family. While the journey was filled with anxiety and uncertainty, I was pleasantly surprised by the genuine love and understanding I received from my parents. However, not everyone is as fortunate, and many LGBT+ individuals continue to face rejection and estrangement from their families.

One of the most disheartening struggles for LGBT+ individuals in the Philippines is the lack of legal recognition and protection. Despite being known as a progressive nation, there is still no national legislation that explicitly protects LGBT+ rights or grants them the freedom to marry. This means that same-sex couples, like my partner and I, are denied the legal and societal benefits that come with marriage.

Being in a committed relationship for over eight years, we dream of a day when we can publicly declare our love and commitment through marriage. We yearn for our relationship to be acknowledged and respected by society, granting us the same rights and privileges as heterosexual couples. Until then, we find solace in our love for each other, cherishing the bond we have built in the face of adversity.

Despite the challenges, the LGBT+ community in the Philippines remains resilient. Advocacy groups and individuals tirelessly work towards fostering understanding, promoting equality, and fighting for the rights of all LGBT+ individuals. Progress may be slow, but with each step forward, we move closer to a society where diversity is celebrated and love knows no bounds.

As I reflect on my journey and the struggles faced by the LGBT+ community, I am filled with hope for a brighter future. It is my sincere belief that, in time, the Philippines will fully embrace its LGBT+ citizens, offering them the love, acceptance, and legal protections they deserve. Until then, I proudly stand with my community, raising my voice and sharing my story to inspire others to live authentically and fight for a more inclusive society.

Love is love, and it knows no boundaries. It is time to acknowledge and address the struggles of the LGBT+ community in the Philippines. Together, let us work towards a future where everyone can live their truth and love without fear or discrimination.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Mojo Diaz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.