Families logo

Little Boy Lost

A Mother's Cry

By Nola HipsherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

It was in the summer of 2003 when it happened. We lived on a dead end road, in a community of townhouses. Next to us, on the right side, was a cornfield. In our backyard was a cemetery. It was me and my four children that lived in the townhouse. I was a single mom, trying to figure out my life, one day at a time.

Jamal was 12 months old, Maleeck was 3, Kristina was 6, and Stephanie was 9. Stephanie and Maleeck was outside riding bikes in the community, something they did often. Maleeck had to ride Kristina's pink bike because he didn't have one. Kristina was out in the front yard playing in "La La Land". I was inside with Jamal while he napped. I remember the day just like it was yesterday. I was watching "Jurassic Park" on TV and in came Stephanie running through the house, to the kitchen to get a drink.

She said, " Mommy, I'm done outside, cause it is hot out there."

"Ok, honey", I said, "Where's Maleeck?"

"I don't know, he is outside with Krissy, I guess. He didn't want to come in."

I get really frantic sometimes if I'm not sure about something, so I ran to the window and looked out. I didn't see him anywhere out there. I went outside and asked Kristina where Maleeck was.

"I don't know", she said.

"Weren't you watching him?" I asked.

"No, Stephanie was", she said.

I looked around and I didn't see the little bike he rode on anywhere.

Panic set in. "What if he went down to the main road?" I thought. At that very moment it was like time stood still. I couldn't move. I felt sick. I wanted to scream, to cry, to run, but I couldn't move. I went frantically back in to the house.

"Stephanie!" I yelled. "Come here now!"

"What is it, mom?" She asked.

I told her to go out immediately and start asking neighbors if they saw Maleeck on the little pink bike. She ran out, and started asking around the community. I had Kristina go inside and watch Jamal so I could go around and look. I was crying so hard and feeling like I needed to get sick. The thought of loosing one of your children is so chilling. A part of you, just gone, in the snap of a finger.

My thoughts ran straight to God.

"Oh, God!" I prayed. "Please, help me find him. I can't lose him. I'm so desperate in this moment. Help me to calm down and find him."

Minutes seemed like hours. No one seen him. I went back to my house to see if he came back. He didn't though, so I went back out and looked in the driveway around my car. The bike he rode on was in front of my car. A bit of relief came to me, that at least he wasn't on the bike, but where is he?

All of a sudden a neighbor cried out, " Is that him way out there? I see what looks like a head in the cornfield."

I turned and looked out in to the cornfield. That has to be him. I took off running and yelling his name. "Maleeck! Maleeck!"

Thank God the corn was only knee high at that time. When I got to him, I just grabbed him and hugged him and scolded him and hugged him again. He probably was wondering what the big deal was. He just wanted to go for a walk in the cornfield.

I know this was a happy ending, but there are so many out there that don't have these happy endings. They are still searching for their loved one. I know what it's like to lose one and I know the feelings you go through to find them.

Let's be more sensitive to what others are going through and say a prayer for them.

children
3

About the Creator

Nola Hipsher

I love to make people laugh, or to be an encouragement. I truly hope you will like or love my writings. Get to know me and those around me with each letter written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.